We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet , spacious clean units in a beautiful place”
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
hobart
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet , spacious clean units in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We just had 3 nights in a little gem of a spot. This motel is a credit to the new owners and what they are doing is good. The beds are comfortable, the surrounds are quiet yet only walking distance to some terriffic eating or you can cook in if you wish. After the hassles of Auckland this was a little mecca of sanity and we would stay here again without a moments hesitation, very reasonably priced for a 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We booked ahead and had to reserve with a credit card. When we arrived, we were very disappointed with the room, which is the smallest studio we've ever seen in all of our travels in New Zealand.

While it's clean and well-decorated, it is ridiculously small. The small, double bed is squeezed right up against one corner of the room and there is no where to sit except on the bed (there's a chair, but it's squeezed into a closet overhang).

We tried to get out of our booking, but the owners locked us in. Do not book here, there are much better places to stay by spending just $10-15/night more. If the room was priced at $75-80 instead of $120, we'd understand, but it's just a plain ripoff.

The hotel, while a handy walk to town, is located between two fairly busy streets so there is lots of street noise at night and in the early morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galapexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuimotel, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Hi, we note your concern about our studio unit, and are sorry you felt unhappy with your visit. We are new owners of the Tui Motel and would like to think we would have been more lenient with you in this situation. We aim to please and we do like our guests to come back!

Please note however, that we do advise on all our website listings that the Studio Unit "is a small unit". We also have photos of the inside displayed as well so you can really see what you are buying. We do also feel that in high season - Dec-March - $120 is a very reasonable price to pay for a clean, newly refurbished, fully serviced unit. Like you said, you could pay $10-$15 more and get a larger unit if that is what you are looking for.

Lots of our guests love our studio, it provides an affordable option for singles or couples who wish to travel in our high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Motel
Austria Motel
#23 of 43 in Paihia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#24 of 43 in Paihia
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Motel
Bayview Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Property: Aarangi Tui Motel
Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Tui Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing