We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location ”
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

A very well positioned motel about 200 mtrs from the seafront.... Nice clean and tidy rooms with a well equipped kitchenette and bathroom, complimentary coffee tea and chocolate and milk given at check in... Helpful and very friendly owners make this motel a winner in Paihia

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had the pleasant surprise to see our booking to be upgraded to a slightly bigger room, with a separate room for our kid.

The kitchenette was effective with all basic ustensils provided; dishes were washed every day when we were out which was a nice surprise as well.

The reception offered us a set of brochures fitting our wants as soon as we get in the motel which was reaally time saving and a nice gesture.

Rooms were clean, bedding was comfortable. Shower could have used a bit more of pressure. Carpet was unwashed though.
Absolutely no noise at night, we could sleep soundly.

Very conveniently located 150m from the naked bus stop, there is a supermarket and some restaurants close by. Walking distance from waitangi treaty grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat6174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Hosts/ managers very welcoming and helpful.
Comfortable bed, units serviced daily. Laundry available to use 10am-5pm
Free wifi.
Close to the centre of Pahia.
Can recommend legends restaurant nearby (will do review for that)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This motel is only a couple of hundred meters from the Paihia centre in a handy and quiet location. We had a family suite and it was perfect for our needs, very clean and comfortable beds. Free WiFi was a great plus as was the complimentary plunger coffee. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again. It's a little dated but overall very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akl_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Paihia is great, and this place aswell.
Big rooms and great value depending on what you pay.
The flat tv have satellitechannels with discovery and animal planet and the kitchen works well.
Good location and near everything. I would definitely stay at this place again.

The wifi is like in the rest of nz.. But hey it works atleast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Tui is located in a very handy position near the cafes, shops and harbour. The room was clean and very comfortable. The reception lady, maybe the manager, was friendly and helpful. Slept well and had a very relaxing time. Not a luxurious place but good value. I would suggest a little more water pressure for the shower will enhance the experience, but all good. Carparking available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for a last-minute weekend break. shortly before Christmas '13. It was recommended to us by friends who have relatives in the trade.

It's in a good location, very close to shops, restaurants and the harbour and everything is within easy walking distance. We'd booked the studio for two nights and the price was extremely reasonable.

The studio was very dated and quite basic, but absolutely spotlessly clean. There wasn't a huge amount of space - particularly in the bathroom - but, since we only really slept there, it was adequate for a two-night stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, without the usual dip in the middle and, as far as comfort in concerned, we slept pretty well. The kitchen area was adequately supplied and, in a nice touch of extra hospitality, we were provided with some fresh milk, to use in our tea/coffee.

The wifi signal is a little hit and miss but, since we were the furthest unit from Reception, I'd been warned to expect that by a previous reviewer.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but during that we did have, they were pleasant, polite and welcoming.

Whilst I appreciate it is out of the motel's control, our first night's sleep was badly disturbed by the enormous amount of noise at a house opposite. We were awakened at least 5-6 times by car doors being repeatedly slammed, loud conversations, screaming and what sounded like street races taking place. In fairness, the second night wasn't as noisy - or at least we weren't woken as often - but as we had an early start to the second day, it didn't put us in the best of moods.

If we return to Paihia, we'd certainly consider staying here again as, although the place could do with some redecoration and modernisation, it gives provides excellent value for money and, as far as cleanliness is concerned, could give an operating theatre a run for its money! When it's quiet enough to allow sleep, the bed certainly encouraged it. On reflection, however, I think we'd consider booking a slightly larger unit next time.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the motel, subject to the slight warning about noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centabay Lodge
Centabay Lodge
#22 of 30 in Paihia
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Property: Aarangi Tui Motel
Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Tui Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing