We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected!”
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked this for a nights stay for my mum, over from the UK. She was going on a cruise from Pahia and needed 1 nights accommodation before. She was very pleased with the Tui and was pleasantly surprised with the quality "especially for a motel". We will be booking this again for the other in laws when they are over! Location, staff and room quality are superb...only negative...no iron, but i did remind her it is only a motel!!! Even though its a good one!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi, We are glad your Mum enjoyed her stay at the Tui Motel, and apologise for the lack of information about our laundry. We should of explained to your mum that our laundry has a washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board for our guests use. I hope she enjoyed her cruise and we look forward to hosting your other family members when they are here. Kind regards, Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good place to stay for Bay of Islands as Pier and small town of Paihia very close.
There were 5 of us so space a little tight, however the sofa bed is quite ok for a couple of days.
Trip to Russell is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A special thanks to Rochine from Gary from England. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your motel and making me feel extra special as a guest. Your motel was extremely clean and loved every minute i was there. I would recommend this motel for anyone coming to Paihia

Room Tip: any room!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

A special thanks to Rochine from Gary from England. Thanks for a wonderful stay at your motel and making me feel extra special as a guest. Your motel was extremely clean and loved every minute i was there. I would recommend this motel for anyone coming to Paihia

Hi Gary, You are most welcome, we love it when a guest leaves as happy as you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you are next back in New Zealand. Cheers! Rochine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Aarangi Tui Motel is situated very close to the pier with ferry boats over to Russell. The units are functional and comfortable. The hosts are more than happy to book trips which include Hole In The Rock cruises, swimming with dolphins, sailing, parasailing etc. and they do get advantageous rates. The motel is a flat walk to the sea with plenty of shops, cafes, eateries in that area. This is a good place to stay if you want to leave the car in a safe place while you go off on a trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftah0lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My family spent 2 days in Paihia and stayed at Aarangi Tui Motel as our base while we did some fun activities including The Rock! We had the most amazing time together in the clean, tidy, self contained unit. The owners were more than accomadating to us and had lots of knowledge and information to share with us to make our holiday more enjoyable! It is just a short walk to Paihia township and The Wharf. We would most definately stay here again and would very higly recommend to others. Thanks again for a very wonderful break away ...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R4CH43L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Old, dated, tired furniture and beds. Basically the same fixtures and fittings as when built in the 80's, but with a fresh coat of paint. I've travelled to many places around the world and haven't come across such a mediocre establishment for quite some time. On the upside, it is well located and budget priced. But so are other better nearby hotels. Sadly v. Disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewkartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Nice hotel. Very friendly lady checked us in and provided details of the Waitangi weekend programme. Short walk to the restaurants and beach.
Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athena6629, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Very friendly lady checked us in and provided details of the Waitangi weekend programme. Short walk to the restaurants and beach.
Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Would visit again

Hi, Thanks for your review, and I am very glad to hear we are succeeding in providing a friendly and informative service. We do pride ourselves on our local knowledge and enjoy being able to provide our guests with trips and tour bookings along with some insiders tips on getting the best out of the "Bay". Thank you, Rochine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.4 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#22 of 43 in Paihia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $67 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Tui Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing