We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the walk to find this place”

Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 65 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: UNLIKE MOST PLACES WE NEVER CHARGE HOLIDAY SURCHARGE Live Music Every Sunday Afternoon 3pm - 6pm. Happy Hour Everyday 3pm - 6pm Alfresco's is a family run business that is open everyday from 8.00Am serving freshly produced food and excellent coffee. We strive to give great service anytime of the day.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We visited for dinner on a quiet wet evening. I had the fish of the day and my partner the chicken. Both were excellent. The fish was served with a shrimp veloute sauce which can be highly recommended. Desert was pear and berry crumble which was also very good, especially on a cold winters night. Only slight distraction was the music which was a little loud.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marklarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Went here two years ago and returned this year.
Like most places in Northland they could improve the warmth for this time of year.
That said the food and service is consistently friendly and great. Oysters where local and fresh. We both had the Hake “fish of the day” so fresh and great flavours. Pear and raspberry crumble with homemade custard was ample and had great flavour. Has a large outdoor covered area probably not for June but would be great in warmer months

Thank Georgeat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear George,

Thank you for writing such such a nice review . We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Boys in the kitchen would be very happy to know that you enjoyed the meals.
Hope to serve you again

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Lovely food and great service, even on a grab one deal everything was superb. Love alfresco. Food is delicious, had the breakfast and dinner here but must try the Sunday lunch one day.

Thank princesskizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

we are glad that you enjoyed your dinning experience with us. You must visit us on Sunday it is live music, $15 roast meal and happy hour between 3-6.

thanks hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We went for lunch yesterday. We both ordered the Minute Steak Sandwich and were really pleased with our choice. I read a reply, from management, to a 'disappointed' diner/reviewer. They said they had rectified the problems and I do believe they have. Everything was hot, tasty and the meat was so tender. A lovely lunch!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank margdenington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write us a review . We as a team appreciate your feedback. we hope you return.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

On a recent visit for a birthday celebration we were very disappointed with food.As we had dined at this restaurant in the past we expected the food quality to be of a high standard. This was not so,on arrival we noticed different hosts and not a lot of people there.On receiving our meals one of them had a hair in it,also part of the meal had been frozen and reheated.The butter chicken had water in it and the crab cakes were watery,the veges were over boiled to a dull green colour.The rest of the meal was luke warm. On bringing this to the hosts attention he offered us a free drink, we told him we were not happy with this and took the cost of that meal off the bill.Do not recommend,host told us chef was new but this is no excuse,disappointed.

Thank Skdmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Hi Guest,
we are really upset to hear about your experience with us was disappointing. Yes there is no excuse and we have rectified the problem internally. Such negligence with our standards is not acceptable. Thank you for taking time to write us a review. The executive chef has made the necessary changes to make sure such incidents never happen again.

kind regards
Team alfresco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing