We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and friendly service”

Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: UNLIKE MOST PLACES WE NEVER CHARGE HOLIDAY SURCHARGE Live Music Every Sunday Afternoon 3pm - 6pm. Happy Hour Everyday 3pm - 6pm Alfresco's is a family run business that is open everyday from 8.00Am serving freshly produced food and excellent coffee. We strive to give great service anytime of the day.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Alfresco's is a friendly place with good food. Great value for money and both the service staff the night we were there were very friendly and attentive.
I took the Venison special and my wife did have the Seafood Chowder. We started with some excellent oysters.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi there
Thank you very much for the great review! Delighted to hear you enjoyed both the food and service so much. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Paihia as much!
Many thanks again
Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    363
    129
    48
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great friendly professional friendly service. Food was a real surprise: fine-dining taste and menu, but pub sized and priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi There
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. I'm delighted to see that you really enjoyed your visit to us and found both the service and food so good. We'd love to see you again the next time you are in Paihia!
Many thanks
Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HOG dinner at Alfresco”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a group this restaurant coped very well - the food was great and the location was perfect as we were staying at the Scenic Hotel

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi Maree
Great to hear you had such great experience at Alfresco's, we really enjoyed having your group dine with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Paihia!
many thanks
Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a lucky find as we weren't familiar with Paihia and just happened to come across it as we walked from our accommodation.
We looked at the menu and decided to dine there.......and again for the next 3nights! The food was excellent, and the wait staff were very friendly, especially since they recognized us from the previous nights! The only fault was when I gather a new staff member "forgot" one of our meals. She apologized profusely and it was rectified as soon as possible. A larger than usual delicious sorbet dessert was brought out for us to share as a nice way to make amends.
Lovely food, lovely atmosphere, friendly accommodating staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi There
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself with us so much you came three times! Thank you for being so understanding about the mix up on one of your orders. Mistakes do happen and especially more likely when new staff are in training but we always try to rectify these mistakes as soon as possible and I am glad to see this happened on this occasion. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Paihia!
Many thanks again
Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great atmosphere, plenty of patrons, indicates good service and food. Happy staff, no one felt rushed and everyone went away after an enjoyable night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi Jan
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review! Awesome to hear you and your friends enjoyed your evening with us so much, would love to see you again the next time you are in Paihia!
Many thanks
Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing