We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Brunch.”

Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: UNLIKE MOST PLACES WE NEVER CHARGE HOLIDAY SURCHARGE Live Music Every Sunday Afternoon 3pm - 6pm. Happy Hour Everyday 3pm - 6pm Alfresco's is a family run business that is open everyday from 8.00Am serving freshly produced food and excellent coffee. We strive to give great service anytime of the day.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good food here. Dory fish for breakfast is nice. Portion is good. Recommended to all. Its a decent place for breakfast or brunch.

1  Thank DDse7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi There

Thanks for the great review! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your brunch wiith us.Our fish breakfast is always a hit with guests so I'm delighted to hear you thought so to!
Hope to see you again the next time you're in Paihia!

Many thanks again
Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,004 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great breakfast, good coffee and one of the few cafes in the area that advertised they had gluten-free bread available

2  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Sheryl

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. Great to see you enjoyed your breakfast so much. We always try to cater to guests with dietary constraints as we want everybody to enjoy their meals!

Many thanks again and hope to see you next time you are in Paihia.
Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited here for a late night hot chocolate and a few days later for lunch. Excellent service and food.

Thank DamienL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Damien

Thanks for the great review!! Delighted to see you enjoyed your visits with us so much and hope to see you again the next time you are in Paihia!

Many thanks
Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews we chose this place to eat.When we arrived at 7.00pm we were the only ones there .the music was deafening and we asked for it to be turned down which the waitress did willingly but only slightly so it was difficult to have a conversation. We decided to only have a main as we didnt want to linger and the menu choice was limited and uninspiring It resulted in us finishing our drinks and leaving to have coffee and Desert elsewhere. Maybe it used to be good and has had its day often because the original Chef has left.Would not recommend for any reason

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susiepnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi Susie

First of all I apologise that you were not happy with your experience at our restaurant. We are a proud family owned and operated business and take great pride in ensuring that all our guests enjoy great food and service when they dine with us.

I was very disappointed to read your review and quite perplexed with the title. I would like to reassure you and our guests that we have a high level of cleanliness in our business with daily and weekly cleaning schedules in place and so I do not understand why you said there as a bad smell. We have never had this type of complaint before from either guests or staff.

We have a high level of service and food and this is reflected in all the wonderful reviews left on this site since we opened our doors in 2008. Our menu offers a wide variety of options for all types of taste with a wide selection of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes. As can be seen in previous reviews we will always cater to any dietary needs without issue. I would also like to point out that our original head chef left 18 months ago and since then the kitchen is being run by a great local chef Brendon Cunningham who has been with us since we opened and took up the head chef position last May. I feel that you have been unfair in your comments regarding our staff who work hard every day to ensure our guests are happy.

I really wish you could have brought up your issues on the night you dined with us so we could have rectified them then and there and have you leave happy. We genuinely don't like to disappoint our guests and have a huge passion for great service and food.
If you do chose to try us again, please make yourself known and I’m sure we can resolve your issues.

Many thanks

Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were there twice.(No, I don't mean, the first and the last time ;-)
Two times the food was excellent. The place could need some different decoration, different lighting etc. But maybe that's a question of taste and prorities

Thank Stoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvnz, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi Stoeff
It's great to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at our restaurant so much and that you came more than once! It's really great to hear you found your food on both occasions to be excellent! Pur lighting is currently being reviewed adn changes will be implemented before Christmas!
Thanks again
Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing