We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent finish!”
Review of Vinnies Takeaway

Vinnies Takeaway
Ranked #22 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent finish!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

A little takeaway, squashed in a line of waterfront shops in beautiful Paihia, Vinnies provided for my husband and I the most superbly cooked fish, Hoki, that I can remember tasting. Usually one to tear off the batter, this batter was so light, crunchy and tasty, I couldn't resist. The pieces were generous and once again, I broke my rule and ate my whole thick, delicious piece of fish. The chips were okay, but the fish was worth every one of the stars I've given it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    55
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

All cooked order but quickly with little waiting. Only does takeaways but good value. Menu bit limited but very tasty and well cooked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have visited Paihia many times. This is one of the better fish and chip takeaways but to be honest it's not that great. As a seaside town, Paihia should have fish that is actually fresh tasting. Disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stjerne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Fish 'n chips by the sea”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Generally, we felt the fish and chips were reasonable. Certainly not the best we had ever had but also not the worst! Probably a bit on the greasy side.There was quite an extensive menu of takeaways which are not our normal thing but this was a fun day out so we opted to have a go. We found the prices for drinks rather high so that two lots of fish and chips and two drinks came to $23.30. We did feel the premises were rather dingy and needing a spruce up.

The best part was finding a table by the sea.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgusting Stale Food ”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Ordered burger and chips. The bun was stale the meat patty was so extremely chewy like it was made from tripe very unpleasant taste and texture cost $11. So disappointed and will never go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnies Takeaway also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Vinnies Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing