We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips I have had in ages”
Review of Vinnies Takeaway

Vinnies Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips I have had in ages”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely fish and chips - good size portion and not greasy at all - great price - will go again next time we are in Paihia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    53
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

In the 2 weeks we stayed in Paihia, we had fish and chips from here 3 times - it was always delicious and very good value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muscateer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit too greasy”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We ordered fish and chips. The size of fish and chips was great. Unfortunately the fish was very greasy. Overall good value

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sazzle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality and value”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have eaten here many times. The fish is always fresh and the chips are great. This is a popular place so you may have to wait a short while whilst your order is being prepared. Everything is cooked freshly for you. There are a few seats and tables available or you can take your food over the road to the benches overlooking the bay. The staff are efficient and friendly and the food here is good quality and great value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and fresh”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Fish is delightful, batter was smashing and crispy. Chips are good also. Don't eat the chicken is terrible. And the fish and sausage deal sucks. The sausages are the worst I've ever eaten plain and bland.

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnies Takeaway also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Vinnies Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing