We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“check what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vinnies Takeaway

Vinnies Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“check what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ordered some food and got the completely wrong order despite asking twice that it was the correct order. The food we got was as expected from a takeaway but it wasn't even close to what we had actually ordered.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlow247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    110
    52
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Dory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The dory seemed very fresh here and was beautiful with a good portion size, the only thing I could say is that the batter was a little sloppy - I prefer mine with a bit more crunch. The prices were fair though and although we had takeaway as other members of the group purchased elsewhere the view from the seating area is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethelanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not the best fish & chips..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I wouldn't eat there again.. There was no fish with our batter and the sausages tasted like they were microwaved.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NadineGray111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We ate here and found the food to be fresh. Premises were very clean. We ordered some toasted sandwiches and a burger. Both were made to order and were quickly prepared. Outdoor seating provided an excellent view of the Bay of Islands. Staff were friendly. Would recommend as a lunch spot!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threezacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome feed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Awesome fish n chips! good scoop sizes and mean burgers..staff are all friendly and fast. you even get free lemon, salt and pepper. Try the Dory!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnies Takeaway also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Vinnies Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing