We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour minus the kiwi experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AwesomeNZ

AwesomeNZ
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cape Reinga - Sandboarding & 90 Mile Beach. An awesome jam packed day that take you on a journey of discovery to the top of New Zealand - get at one with nature, do the dunes, hear the legends and much more! Visit the famous Cape Reinga lighthouse, witness the Pacific Ocean collide with the Tasman Sea. Boogie board down the massive sand dunes at the Te Paki Stream and speed along the sand on Ninety Mile Beach.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tour minus the kiwi experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The tour was great with the highlight being sand boarding and driving on the beach. The big let down for us was the other guests on the bus, they were really loud and we're unable to hear much of the commentary on the way back. The noisy passengers were all on the kiwi experience tour and were more interested in talking about their previous nights antics than enjoying the lovely guide Jacqui's commentary. I presume that all kiwi experiencers use this tour so don't know if this is a one off or it would be better to go with another company.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGSBOI, Manager at AwesomeNZ, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Miss_Mo123,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the tour, with sand boarding and driving along the beach being a highlight. We are very proud of the drivers that make the journey to Cape Reinga each day. Jacqui is indeed lovely, and we're sorry you did not get to enjoy her commentary as much as you should have.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels,
Warm regards,
Rachel and the Team at Fullers GreatSights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best day tour - well worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Everything positive already written about this tour we agree with. It was a tremendously interesting day and the scenery was amazing - our tour included a packed lunch and finished with a feed of local "fush and chups" (you pay but well priced) to reach the very top of the island where the Tasman and Pacific oceans meet was a highlight as well as the beach itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 973JimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Northern Beauty of New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visit the lighthouse and stand at the very Northern most tip of New Zealand, Cape Reinga, before heading back south again but this time instead of by road take the beach, 90 Mile Beach. The rugged open coastline is breathtaking with rolling surf. Experience New Zealands untouched coastline and witness the native plant and birdlife. A good idea to stock up with food and water as there are few places in which you can purchase things. Still, it is definitely a Must See!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4507Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesomeNZcom, Marketing specialist at AwesomeNZ, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hi Brenda, thanks so much for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your day in the Far North - the scenery really is stunning! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It's natural beauty will take your breath away and lure you to walk along it's shores”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wow, that was what we all first stated when we arrived. We had been "told" this place was beautiful, but as you know it's quite another thing to discover that it's true.

DO NOT MISS visiting this beach! We did not go with the tour, as we wanted the flexibility to stay as long as we wanted. Upon arrival we sat down and ate lunch, watching the birds float past, the seagulls crack open small clams and soaked in the atmosphere.

We then enjoyed a long walk along 90 Mile Beaches shores listening to the water lapping upon the sand, the cries of the birds and good company.
(I was spoilt, had my hubby and sensational cousins to share this with)

Tips
* There are no public toilets
* If you want to ride the dunes and see more of the area book a tour
* Take all your water, drinks, snacks and meals with you as there are not too many places you can buy from.
* Ensure your camera has plenty of memory cards or if "old school" loads of film...
* Put aside an entire day to really see everything and enjoy the scenery

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KiddHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A must do trip in the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We began kiwi experience heading north to the bay of islands. There were lots of activities on offer, but the cape Reinga trip was tipped as a must do so we booked ourselves on! The day was a highlight of our whole trip to NZ! With the tour to hug a tree in a forest, visit the lighthouse and gorgeous views, onto sand boarding and 90 mile beach, the day was amazing value for money! Would highly recommend to any traveller of any age

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AwesomeNZ also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to AwesomeNZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing