We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of R. Tucker Thompson

R. Tucker Thompson
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.31*
and up
Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch
Ranked #1 of 49 Tours in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing on Northland’s own tall ship! You can help set the sails, ride on the bowsprit, climb the rigging, or alternatively you can relax while our crew does the work. Morning cream tea and a delicious BBQ lunch are included. The ship is a member of the Northland Sustainable Tourism Charter and operated by a charitable trust. Profits from day sails are used to develop youth in Northland.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“awesome day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The day was full of fun, adventure, food, and learning. We were tasked with helping out with putting the sails up and got a chance to steer the ship. Lunch was cooked on a BBQ by the crew while those who wanted to explore were taken on a motorboat to an island nearby. Good day out overall :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbyanderson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you had a fun day out with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    34
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sailing on the R. Tucker Thompson is a fantastic experience and I highly recommend people of all age groups try it out! The crew are really welcoming and its a definitely a chilled atmosphere. What I liked the most is that they are willing to involve guests in the preparation of the ship and pulling and tying sail ropes, that was very cool!

Thanks a bunch R. Tucker Thompson! :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank iWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for your feedback - we like to think there is something for everyone; from babies through to nonogenenarians. It's great when people help out and get to see what sailing back in the old days was like - no electric winches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Can we go again?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A wonderful day recommended by some friends and we certainly were not dissapointed. Everything was better than expectations. Skipper was good fun and had several well told explainations about his "Baggy Wrinkles" All quite believable after a few stienlagers!!!
Would recommend it to anyone and when we are back in the area again we will definately be booking another trip. Total relaxation in another World. Thank you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Ahh, you believed the old baggywrinkle stories!! We'd love to have you sail with us again and next time get the crew to show you how to make them. We actually get the kids doing this sometimes on the youth development voyages! Thanks for the lovely review ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sailing in the Bay of Islands the proper way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip, it's well worth it and the money supports the charity in the winter months. Stay in Piahia and catch any ferry across over to join the ship at Russell at 10:00, it's included in the price. Note the latest ferry to catch must be 9:30. A short safety drill, then it's tea and scones home made by the cook. It's off to catch the wind and drop anchorage out of the wind in a bay of a deserted island, with a beautiful sandy beach. Dive of the boat into clear waters then get taken ashore by boat to explore, whilst a simple but delicious lunch is prepared back on board. Have a go raising the sails, steering the ship, climbing the rigging, what ever suits. Arrives back in Russell in time to enjoy a guided tour around the lovely town of Russell. Last ferry back to Piahia is about 10ish. Memorable trip which you can't fail to enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnTeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Kia ora, thanks for your review on TripAdvisor about your experienceand we're glad you enjoyed the day out with us. Yes back in the 1800s, the Bay of Islands was full of ships just like the Tucker so it's nice to step back in time and imagine what it was like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super awesome sailing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The crew was awesome, very friendly, helpful and accomodating. This was one of the best sailing experiences I've ever had. Definitely worth trying at least once in your lifetime. I did not want it to end. Sailing around the Bay of Islands was just really amazing and so beautiful and I was glad we had the most perfect weather that day. The food was great and appetizing. Even when I was doing it solo, the crew made me feel most comfortable. Definitely doing it again with my friends or family next time in the future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TES983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Kia ora from the sunny Bay of Islands and thanks for you kind feedback. Like everyone, we've been enjoying this endless summer. Look forward to seeing you back with friends and family another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R. Tucker Thompson also viewed

 

Been to R. Tucker Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing