We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious trip on Tucker”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of R. Tucker Thompson

R. Tucker Thompson
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.31*
and up
Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch
Ranked #1 of 49 Tours in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing on Northland’s own tall ship! You can help set the sails, ride on the bowsprit, climb the rigging, or alternatively you can relax while our crew does the work. Morning cream tea and a delicious BBQ lunch are included. The ship is a member of the Northland Sustainable Tourism Charter and operated by a charitable trust. Profits from day sails are used to develop youth in Northland.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glorious trip on Tucker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Bill and I went on the Tucker Thompson last Thursday and we had the most amazing and fun day. Bill got to steer and fulfilled an ambition, we both went swimming off the ship, made friends, and the lunch made by Yani was very tasty, especially the potato salad, which was perfect Yani!!
Steve, the skipper and Cedric the "mate" where good fun. Well worth a trip, steer, climb the rigging, hoist the sails, swim, or do nothing the choice is yours! We are going to do this again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank juneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Kia ora and thanks for sharing your experience on the Tucker through Trip Advisor and it's great to know you'd like to do it again! We'll be heading off on our youth voyages before too long, but back again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    34
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the wind of the tall ship sails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wanted a unique experience for our all too short visit to Bay of Islands. We'd booked for the trip prior to departing Melbourne. Day was overcast and breezey perfect for a sail under full canvas.
we experienced it all, assisting with the raising of the sails, getting soaked when sailing into the high seas.But the most special of all was the pod of dophins that joined us for as we sailed along and then, just as we were coming into the bay to anchor for lunch we were priviledged to encounter a pod of Orcas together with babies! Even the crew, Sophie, Kylie etc were blown away by this, said it was truly rare! And on the note of the crew, one word - exceptional - their knowledge, friendliness and tenthusiasm. This is a real 'must do' when visiting Bay of Islands.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It sounds like a pretty amazing day! We'd love to take the credit for it all but have to acknowledge Mother Nature for putting on a very special treat for you all. Thank you for your kind words about the crew, we all love what we do and it's a privilege to share the ship with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome day out !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was an awesome day out , would recommend to anyone . The sailing staff were fantastic and the food was superb . A never to forget experience .. Go on you know you want to .. !! :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sniper678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're very glad you enjoyed yourself on board the Tucker!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A day on R Tucker Thopmson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a fantastic day - the ship, the weather, the scenery, the food and most importantly the crew. Sophie is not only a knowledgable skipper but also a great host. Kylie served fab food - morning tea was fresh scones with jam & cream & great coffee, then lunch - bbq chicken with tasty salads. Along with Nic the three of them crewed the ship really well giving many opportunities to us all to be as involved with the sails & direction as we chose.
The ship was immaculately presented - so clean and well cared for.
Wonderful opportunity to support the Trust who can then give opportunities to Northlands young people. Love the t-shirts
Thanks for a wonderful time out Sophie, Kylie & Nic - going to the BOI - this is a must do.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pukegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Kia ora and appreciate your kind words - the crew are most appreciative of your feedback. It always helps when we love what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend Desiree was over from England for a holiday. We could have gone on another cruise and seen more islands but decided this would be more fun. It was great. The crew, Steve, Kylie, Wayne and Marlin were friendly and good fun. We were lucky with the weather. Refreshments and lunch were good. It was good fun steering the ship, helping with the sails, climbing the rigging etc.We saw some of the wonderful Bay of Islands and spent a short time on one of the beaches, All told, it was one of the best days out ever. Thanks again to the crew.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTuckerT, General Manager at R. Tucker Thompson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Kia ora and thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience! Hopefully your friend will take with her happy memories of her visit to New Zealand and the Bay of Islands. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R. Tucker Thompson also viewed

 

Been to R. Tucker Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing