We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for visiting The Bay of Islands”
Review of Sanctuary Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Palms
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location was perfect , out of town but close enough for all the attractions. We were booked into The Waterfall Suite which promised panoramic views of the bay. It did not. Whilst the bedroom and ensuite were superbly presented the living area was pokey and at the end of a corridor which was slightly chlostrophobic . The waterfall was not working although they were trying to fix it whilst we were there.
The floor boards above were very creaky so we were able to hear the constant movement of our neighbours above which was somewhat annoying.
Having said all that Karen was most helpful and obliging but we felt hat our suite was not described as accurately as it could have been. We were expecting better views and more living space.

Room Tip: The views are not great and the living room is very small with two arm chairs, a round table with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights in the Penthouse Suite, it was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend booked this as a romantic getaway and it was absolutely perfect.
This suite has an beautiful big deck with views down to the wharf in Paihia and across the bay to Russell, just stunning. The apartment consists of a master suite with ensuite including jetted tub. There is also an office and another seperate bathroom. It boasts a huge open lounge/kitchen area with bifolding doors onto the deck. We were greeted with a very yummy breakfast basket and a bottle of wine to celebrate my birthday.
The extras make this stay extra special, beautiful bed/bedding, luxurious robes, candles everywhere and stunning decor.
Sanctuary Palms is not a well known spot, it is definitely a hidden gem and deserves 5 stars. Our host Karen was lovely and took great care of us in making sure we always had everything we needed.
We will back one day to enjoy another stay as this was definitely one to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We took the Moulin Rouge suite for a couple of nights. Loved the decor & luxurious surrounds. Views over the bay with a small balcony. The living/dining/kitchen area is spacious and beautifully appointed. Kitchen with everything. Extras included telescope, CDs, dishwasher, chess set, books. The bedding sumptuous. The bathroom is absolutely spectacular. Big double spa, lots of candles, classic tiling & mirrors. Washer & drier. Special thanks to Karen for all the local knowledge and advice. Helped make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rahji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for anything better!! We were in the penthouse, with it's huge private deck with amazing views over the bay. Very quiet location yet only 5mins walk to town and 7-8mins walk to the wharf (tourist boats etc...)
Everything in the apartment was modern and well looked after, and the manager (Karen) was extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We booked a 3 night stay in the "Moulin Rouge" apartment and were very pleased with our stay at Sanctuary Palms. The apartment is large with a living room/dining area and well equipped kitchen. There is an amazing bathroom with jacuzzi tub, bedroom and small dressing area with washer and dryer. Great view of the bay. It is located in a nice residental area on a hill, but walking distance to the main business area of Paihia. The decor is very tasteful and comfortable. Moulin Rouge is the largest apartment, I believe, but I looked at the other 2 while I was there and I would stay in any of them next time. The manager Karen is delightful and provides the apartment with a basket of goodies to be enjoyed during your stay. She knows the area very well and is very helpful with suggestions. You won't be disappointed with a stay at Sanctuary Palms.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lislandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Palms

Address: 31 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $262 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing