We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Allview is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allview Lodge
Ranked #14 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Allview is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We chose to stay at Allview for the last two nights of our whirlwind travels around New Zealand. It was the perfect ending for our holiday. The only problem was that we could not stay for a longer period. Robyn and Peter were amazing hosts and great company. We were greeted with drinks on their fantastic terrace which we enjoyed whilst starting to relax and soak up the stunning views. Our apartment was really luxorious with two double beds, large leather armchairs and a table and chairs, all glass fronted leading out onto our balcony and views over The Bay of Islands towards Russell. There was also a well equipped kitchen with separate equipment for each of the two apartments and laundry facilities. We returned to Robyn and Peter's terrece each morning for a great breakfast. There is a wide and generous choice from which you make your selection the night before and there is absolutely no need to eat again until the evening! The day can be spent on the beach which is reached via steps leading down from the apartment, and we used the kayaks that were provided to explore some of the little islands in the bay. We had a truly memorable stay and know that you will too. Remember, two nights is not long enough! Gail and Varinder

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks for your great review, glad you had the time to write it for us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the photo. Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived at Allview Lodge after a 4 hour drive from Auckland and were immediately won over by the amazing views from our wonderful apartment

The apartment was huge with two double beds, two lounger chairs a dining room table and a bathroom which my wife labelled "the best of our trip". It included a huge two person bath and a great shower, even the view from the toilet was good!

But the the best bit about this accommodation is the view. You can lay on your bed or sit on the veranda and look out on to a peaceful bay with a few boats bobbing in the water and simply watch the world go by. We chilled some champers (we were on honeymoon) in the fridge in our shared kitchen area and then sipped drinks while watching the sun drop over Paihia. Very relaxing and truly amazing

The breakfasts are also very very good. Robyn and Peter offer an extensive choice of foods which you choose the night before and then you get to enjoy them on their own private balcony which again looks over the bay. One of the most amazing views we have had while eating eggs benedict and smoked salmon (the filter coffee was really good too)

The other great thing about this accommodation is that you have a staircase that leads directly to the beach, a very quiet beach too. This is a lovely touch, particularly after using the complimentary kayaks, so you can simply wander back up to your accommodation whenever you feel like it, no need to drive to the nearest beach

I would recommend anyone visiting Paihia to stay at Allview lodge. Its location is truly memorable and the quality of accommodation and service is first class

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichM147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allviewlodge, Owner at Allview Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
So glad you had the time to write a great review for us and that you had a lovely stay with us. Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B in Northland, look no further - this will be the highlight of your New Zealand travels as it was ours. The location is the best - 5 minutes walk from town along the water, on its own private beach, kayaks ready to hop into, and THE VIEW! is to die for. The suites and breakfasts are superb, everything down to the smallest detail is a 6* and make you feel very pampered. Last but not least, Robyn and Peter are the best hosts ever - incredibly welcoming, accommodating, helpful, warm, caring, with a great sense of humour. They really treat you like family and if you play your cards right you might even get invited to one of their yummy BBQs. We stayed in many magnificent B&Bs in New Zealand but none quite measured up to the standards and hospitality at the Allview Lodge. Treat yourself - you are worth it!

Room Tip: Both are superb and the view will leave you speechless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Allview is a jewel. The purpose-built home is private, luxurious and hosts Robyn & Peter went above and beyond in every way. We highly recommend this very special B & B in beautiful Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingaftermidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had the Puhutakawa suite, which is simply stunning. The views are spectacular and we couldn't get enough of them. Robyn and Peter are awesome hosts, and really take an interest, the breakfasts were divine and we felt truly spoilt. We would have loved to have stayed longer than the 3 nights we had there.

Room Tip: Puhutakawa suite accomodates up to 4 people, with a queen size bed and two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Allview Lodge is thoroughly recommended in all respects. The ensuite rooms in this purpose built house are of exceptionally good quality, and the views over the Bay of Islands from the verandha must surely be some of the best in the area. There is also access to the beach.

We were here for only two nights, and wished it had been more. The facilities are terrific, and earn "five stars" without any hesitation. Breakfasts were delicious, and set us up for the day.

Robyn and Peter have been in the B&B business in Pahia for many years. They are friendly, helpful (eg lifts into and from town), and welcoming hosts, but are also understated in the best KIwi traditions, so you wonder if they realise (but I'm sure they do) just how good their facilities are in comparison to most others.

Bay of Islands is, of course, somewhere near the top of the list of tourist attractions in NZ, and there is much to do and see, but we would recommend the nearbyTreaty House at Whitianga, the 30 degree pub on the sea front, and a trip out to the Hole in the Rock on a boat (Robyn or Peter will book this up for you). Hopefully the sea will be a bit rough, as it was for us, with plenty of spray, hopefully you will stay out on deck as we did to see the orca hunting the stingrays, and that you will also have a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Robyn and Peter are friendly and welcoming hosts. They have built their home to overlook the Bay and the two guests suites have the most wonderful views. Our room was spacious with comfortable seating, large ensuite with separate bath and shower and a balcony. Breakfasts were delicious starting with a beautifully made and presented bowl of fruit, with cereals, toast, jam etc. The cooked breakfast was well cooked and particularly the eggs benedict was excellent. This was the most expensive B&B we stayed in during our month trip to NZ and it was certainly the best. The town can easily be reached by walking along the beach during daylight hours, but the return trip in the dark would be the longer way round by road - we did it with no problem, but you need a torch and the second part of the walk is uphill.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janetcifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay of Islands Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allview Lodge

Property: Allview Lodge
Address: 30 H Sullivans Road Paihia 0200 | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, 5 min stroll along beach to cafes, shops and tourist pier. We have 2 suites, 1x1 bedroom & 1 x 2 bedroom both with en-suites, large walk-in showers, spacious lounge/dining areas with kitchenette, and private patios. 1 Suite has a 2 person bath. Guests laundry adjacent to both suites. Private beach access, superb sea views, complimentary Kayaks and just a short paddle to some of the most outstanding beauty that the Bay of Islands has to offer.Start of the coastal walking track. Off street parking. No traffic noise. Private entry by internal lift or external stairway. Free pick-up from Paihia Bus depot or Kerikeri airport. Generous self-serve continental breakfasts. Warm friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allview Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing