We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply lovely”
Review of Allview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allview Lodge
Ranked #15 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply lovely”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Allview is a jewel. The purpose-built home is private, luxurious and hosts Robyn & Peter went above and beyond in every way. We highly recommend this very special B & B in beautiful Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingaftermidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had the Puhutakawa suite, which is simply stunning. The views are spectacular and we couldn't get enough of them. Robyn and Peter are awesome hosts, and really take an interest, the breakfasts were divine and we felt truly spoilt. We would have loved to have stayed longer than the 3 nights we had there.

Room Tip: Puhutakawa suite accomodates up to 4 people, with a queen size bed and two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Allview Lodge is thoroughly recommended in all respects. The ensuite rooms in this purpose built house are of exceptionally good quality, and the views over the Bay of Islands from the verandha must surely be some of the best in the area. There is also access to the beach.

We were here for only two nights, and wished it had been more. The facilities are terrific, and earn "five stars" without any hesitation. Breakfasts were delicious, and set us up for the day.

Robyn and Peter have been in the B&B business in Pahia for many years. They are friendly, helpful (eg lifts into and from town), and welcoming hosts, but are also understated in the best KIwi traditions, so you wonder if they realise (but I'm sure they do) just how good their facilities are in comparison to most others.

Bay of Islands is, of course, somewhere near the top of the list of tourist attractions in NZ, and there is much to do and see, but we would recommend the nearbyTreaty House at Whitianga, the 30 degree pub on the sea front, and a trip out to the Hole in the Rock on a boat (Robyn or Peter will book this up for you). Hopefully the sea will be a bit rough, as it was for us, with plenty of spray, hopefully you will stay out on deck as we did to see the orca hunting the stingrays, and that you will also have a truly memorable trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Robyn and Peter are friendly and welcoming hosts. They have built their home to overlook the Bay and the two guests suites have the most wonderful views. Our room was spacious with comfortable seating, large ensuite with separate bath and shower and a balcony. Breakfasts were delicious starting with a beautifully made and presented bowl of fruit, with cereals, toast, jam etc. The cooked breakfast was well cooked and particularly the eggs benedict was excellent. This was the most expensive B&B we stayed in during our month trip to NZ and it was certainly the best. The town can easily be reached by walking along the beach during daylight hours, but the return trip in the dark would be the longer way round by road - we did it with no problem, but you need a torch and the second part of the walk is uphill.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janetcifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This was the best B&B we stayed in during our four weeks in New Zealand (not surprisingly it was also the most exensive). It really ticks all the boxes and the descriptions that you read in the various guides just don't do it justice. If you only stay in one place in NZ make it this one. We also found the hosts to be excellent - just the right degree of friendliness and professionalism. Best breakfasts ever !. Only one word of caution - if you really don't like dogs it probably isn't for you because although the poodles are well controlled they do take an interest in the guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2010

No expense was spared when Robyn and Peter designed and built Allview Lodge. Every comfort is provided for in the spacious accommodation with extensive views over the Bay. Hospitality is outstanding and you will need for nothing during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Great view,Wonderful hosts,delicious food.Great location with ocean views

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
5.5 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allview Lodge

Property: Allview Lodge
Address: 30 H Sullivans Road Paihia 0200 | PO Box 357, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, 5 min stroll along beach to cafes, shops and tourist pier. We have 2 suites, 1x1 bedroom & 1 x 2 bedroom both with en-suites, large walk-in showers, spacious lounge/dining areas with kitchenette, and private patios. 1 Suite has a 2 person bath. Guests laundry adjacent to both suites. Private beach access, superb sea views, complimentary Kayaks and just a short paddle to some of the most outstanding beauty that the Bay of Islands has to offer.Start of the coastal walking track. Off street parking. No traffic noise. Private entry by internal lift or external stairway. Free pick-up from Paihia Bus depot or Kerikeri airport. Generous self-serve continental breakfasts. Warm friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allview Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing