We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing trip that sets sail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand - CLOSED

Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a full day sailing adventure on the legendary ocean going maxi yacht. Feel the thrill of taking the helm that Sir Peter Blake once steered on course. Join the crew in sailing this great vessel around the spectacular scenery of the Bay of Islands...
Brussels
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Sailing trip that sets sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We have had a wonderful on board of this sailingboat. As the crew contains only 3 people you can (you have not) be actif during the whole cruise in all the sail activities.
Half way the trip there is a stop at a lovely bay, where you can make a short walk to an outlook, or use one of the kayaks, or snorkel or just swim in the bay.
After all these activities the crew has prepared a perfect lunchbuffet to still your hunger.
We were lucky to be accompanied during a long period by a group of dolphins seekimg hide near the sailboat for the motorboats.
This trip is really recommendable for everybody. Perhaps not for kids as the boat can have sometimes a very steep angle and the trip can be easily boring for them.
We think that this daytrip you should do if you at Pahia.

Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had never been on a sailing boat before and only did this trip to fill in the day we had no plans. One of the best days we had over there, thank you all so much. The whole experience (including the lunch freshly made) was fabulous. Would recommend to anyone, any age, experience on the water or not. Thank you all once again, we'll be back :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank danfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Thanks to Tom and Tom for an awesome day. They went out of their way to make everything work like clockwork. Just don't go without a wind; it is a yacht after all. Boy that grinding can be hard work.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“With the breeze in your sails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

What an amazing experience and probably the major highlight of our short visit to this wonderful NZ region!!
We climbed aboard and after a briefing were treated to a scrumptous lunch prepared for us by Tom in the bows of this incredible machine.
Once lunch was done we set sail around the incredibly beautiful Bay of Islands and being part of the crew, grinded our way under the orders of Tom and Kerin. Don't think this is just a luxurious sail because you become part of the crew on this amazing and very famous yacht, and my teenage son absolutely LOVED it!! First time he's 'willingly' worked for nothing. :D
We stopped off in a lagoon for a swim, explore and kayak or just a relax on the beach. Then time to set sail again as we glided around the Bay of Island having an awsome time and successfully leaning the vessel to almost 90° whilst sipping champagne and chatting to fellow passenger/crew. All the while learning about the adventures of this amazing yacht from it's 'real crew' and their personal adventures.
THIS IS AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED AND DEFINITELY VALUE FOR $$$$$
HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beware - this is real sailing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Beware - the Sail NZ experience out of Paihia has switched from a comfortable, land-lubber friendly Catamaran to an ocean going, single hull yacht which is NOT equipped for land-lubbers and which DOES sail at angles that have one rail dipping in the ocean. We enjoyed our sail and - if the publicity materials had properly disclosed the trip - would give it more than an average rating - BUT - publicity materials still show a Cat and some of our fellow passengers were clearly ill-equipped for the racing yacht experience that they got! We would recommend the trip to friends who are sailors and/or simply enjoy the sea. We would NOT recommend the trip to friends who are not at home on boats! The trip lasts about 6 hours - four on the water and two on shore at one of the islands. A fairly basic lunch is provided. Our crew members were delightful.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore- Sail Lion New Zealand also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing