We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Paihia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Good base for Paihia”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Fine little hostel. private rooms are very small but clean. Very good for the price and in the heart of the action.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
33
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My boyfriend and i stayed at this YHA hostel in Feb 2009 (during a 4 weeks trip of NZ) and we found this hostel in particular to be of very high standard. We booked a double room but what we actually ended up getting was more like a studio apartment. We had our own living space with small sofa, tv, fridge, lovely large balcony and private bathroom (we shared all this with one other double room). It was extremely good value as we only paid the price of a double room! The rooms were very clean and the living areas were kept tidy. Kitchen was on the smaller side but still ample room for several people to be cooking at once. It is only a short walk to the lovely beach at the end of the road. The staff were helpful and friendly.

There are several shops nearby and also some nightlife up the road (this did not affect our sleep however as once in our room we could barely hear any noise)

Take advantage of the trips offered along the beachfront - we did the day trip to Cape Reinga which was brilliant (included sand boarding on some awesome dunes!) and the next day we went out on the boat seeing dolphins.

All in all, this was my favourite hostel of the dozens we stayed at during our trip! Definately recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KZRSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

YHA Paihia is a quiet and quaint hostel at the end of Kings Rd which is the main road for hostels. It has a very nice and clean hostel (one of the only hostels I stayed at that did not have wet dish towels always hanging in the kitchen, regardless of the fact that it was fully booked when I stayed there). While the kitchen was on the small side, it was workable and had free and ample amounts of spices including sugar. In addition, it was one of the only hostels I stayed at that had a working stove!! It was a quieter hostel with a nice enclosed area outside for dining as well as tables and chairs not enclosed. I found the overall age to be on the older side (30+).
Several cons about the YHA: it did not have a swimming pool like its neighboring hostel although it is a short walk to the beach. In addition, the bunk room I stayed in, while maximizing its space, has its bunks very close (the top one is about a foot off the bottom bed although only on the lower half of the bed ie. only your legs and feet are covered by the top bunk). Unless you are claustrophobic, it really should not affect you that much.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I stayed at the Paihia YHA during June 2009. The room was a 4 bed dorm with en-suite for NZD24. The room was very clean & tidy as was the bathroom. Towels were provided and replaced each day. The curtains were thick which kept out the cold and light and the heater quickly heated up the room. The beds were fastened to the wall so you weren’t woken up by person in the other bunk rolling over as is the case with cheaper bunk beds. The outdoor areas were clean and spacious and the kitchen was up to the normal high standards of the YHA. The computers had CD rewriters and card readers but the internet was NZD6 per hour which is expensive. Unfortunately, I was there due the winter so the hostel was dead, as was Paihia, but I can imagine this being a quality place during the summer months.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthtelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This place is a great find! As with other YHA's we stayed in throughout NZ, this place has everything working in its favor. This was the first hostel we stayed at in NZ after coming from Australia and we were pleasantly surprised to be back on the right track of quality cheap accomodation.

We had a private room with ensuite for cheap. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding looked clean and soft. The bathroom, while small, was a very clean ensuite which was nice.

The shared kitchen was very large and fully stocked (one of the better kitchens we've seen in our 6 month trip). There is free parking, and the location couldn't be better right in town and a 5 minute walk to the boat wharf for dolphin encounters and the rest of the boat cruises.

We arrived late after reception had closed but there was a late check in box where we could pick up our keys and check in. When we woke up in the morning, the owner/manager was very helpful and helped arrange our activities at a nice discounted price.

The Paihia Tennis club is located right next door, and the hostel allows free access to the tennis court.

Only con for us was no free wifi. They did have wifi, but you had to pay. We ended up getting a month long deal for 20US (i think) as we were staying in a number of YHA's along the way.

Definately the place to stay in Paihia!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#9 of 30 in Paihia
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#26 of 30 in Paihia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bay of Islands Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bay of Islands Paihia

Property: YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Address: Corner Kings Road and MacMurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bay of Islands Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia Located in the Far North of New Zealand , the Bay of Islands is renowned for its rich cultural hsitory and magnificent scenery and is a must-see when visiting New Zealand. Paihia, the gateway to the Bay of Islands, is a bustling seaside town with superb safe swimming beaches and is the starting point for a wide range of activities and attractionsThe YHA Bay of Islands Paihia is a purpose built two-level hostel in the heart of Paihia offering affordable, comfortable, quiet and secure accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. It can accommodate up to 50 people in rooms ranging from single, double and shared twin to four and eight-bed dormitories, a six-bed cabin and a female-only dormitory room. All rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms.Our cosy hostel has a fully-equipped kitchen , lounge, laundry facilities and plenty of outdoor dining space. There is car parking on the street outside and tennis courts next door.Amenities, including a food market, shops, information centres, and restaurants and bars are all located within easy walking distance. The beach is 100 metres from the door and the Paihia wharf, the beginning of many of the Bay’s water-based activities, is a short stroll along the waterfront. While you are close to all the action, our hostel is secluded enough for you to enjoy a quiet and uninterrupted night’s sleep.Our staff are committed to ensuring that you have a comfortable stay and a memorable visit to our special part of the world. They will happily answer any questions, offer suggestions and assist you in planning and booking activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Bay of Islands Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing