We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hostel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lots to do in Paihia, worth staying a few days. Went dolphin watching which was brilliant, and lots of bush/coastal walks. Boardwalks in the mangroves, swam to an island, kayaking. Waitangi & Russell interesting for history, too.
Nice to come home to the YHA in the evening, calm and clean, close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on Feb 20th for one night in a 4 bed dorm. The staff are good and the hostel is located right in the heart of the bars etc., and very close to the beach, so it's a sociable and I'd suggest, a hostel with mainly 18-21 year olds. Without wanting to sound harsh, the dorm I was in has seen better days! The dorm was fairly small, but the biggest issue was that the bunk bed (I was at the top) was unstable....so a: it felt like it would break any moment and b: every time I moved, it creaked like crazy. The bathroom was tiny and didn't feel overly clean. The hostel did have a good vibe though and although I would not stay here again, If you want a sociable hostel, this is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

very good clean hostel and staff very very helpful. above and beyond there position.
Andy the manager was on site all the time to help with queries.As we had car problems they photo copied everything for us to send to the AA.

Room Tip: all rooms en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Spent three nights here in a double room with en-suite. Great room, great atmosphere and close to everything, food, drink and tourist trips from the wharf. Outside area downstairs was great to sit and chill with a Corona and use our computers with the free WiFi for YHA members.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were very happy with the YHA in Paihia. It was clean, quiet, well located and convenient. We were able to park our car on the property near our door. The staff was helpful and efficient. The only negative was the small bathroom sink: it wasplastic and the bowl was about six inches deep and 18 inches wide. To complicate matters, a soap dispenser was installed directly over it, so you couldn't get you head/face over it. Otherwise we had no complaints

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights while touring the Northland. I shared a 4-bed dorm with ensuite (shower, sink and toilet). This hostel is pretty small.

Positives: Room and shower were clean, communal areas pretty clean and tidy with a cosy lounge area. Only a short walk to restaurants and the waterfront. There is car parking and good-quality pay wifi.

Negatives: I am not tall, and I could not even sit up half-way on the bottom bunk because the top bunk was so close. There were no lockers in the room, just a few outside in the communal area (not enough for one per guest). I took a shower in the evening on both nights I stayed, but the water was completely cold - I'm not sure whether this would be better in the mornings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

As we were away for 7 weeks we mixed our accommodation as founds don't last forever, our room was en-suit on the ground floor car parked outside the staff were brilliant nothing to much trouble their knowledge of the area was first class and precise, we took the ferry over to Russell there wasn't a great deal to do we had walk around my Wife visited the old Church and we had lunch before returning. we opted for the flight to Cape Reinga far Northland it was fantastic over 90 mile beach landing on a grass air-strip onto a mini bus to the Cape this is where to Maori spirits are said to leap from then onto some very scenic areas and coves. Places to eat 35 degree's South a Restaurant on the waters edge and 35 degree's South of the equator, the price you paid wasn't just for the location but the extremely gorgeous food also on King Street just round the corner form the YHA was Tito's a family run restaurant excellent vale for money. moving onto Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beenaroundgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#9 of 31 in Paihia
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
Cap'n Bob's Beach House
#12 of 31 in Paihia
72 reviews
0 mi away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bay of Islands Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bay of Islands Paihia

Address: Corner Kings Road and MacMurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $36 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bay of Islands Paihia 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia Located in the Far North of New Zealand , the Bay of Islands is renowned for its rich cultural hsitory and magnificent scenery and is a must-see when visiting New Zealand. Paihia, the gateway to the Bay of Islands, is a bustling seaside town with superb safe swimming beaches and is the starting point for a wide range of activities and attractionsThe YHA Bay of Islands Paihia is a purpose built two-level hostel in the heart of Paihia offering affordable, comfortable, quiet and secure accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. It can accommodate up to 50 people in rooms ranging from single, double and shared twin to four and eight-bed dormitories, a six-bed cabin and a female-only dormitory room. All rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms.Our cosy hostel has a fully-equipped kitchen , lounge, laundry facilities and plenty of outdoor dining space. There is car parking on the street outside and tennis courts next door.Amenities, including a food market, shops, information centres, and restaurants and bars are all located within easy walking distance. The beach is 100 metres from the door and the Paihia wharf, the beginning of many of the Bay’s water-based activities, is a short stroll along the waterfront. While you are close to all the action, our hostel is secluded enough for you to enjoy a quiet and uninterrupted night’s sleep.Our staff are committed to ensuring that you have a comfortable stay and a memorable visit to our special part of the world. They will happily answer any questions, offer suggestions and assist you in planning and booking activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your YHA Bay of Islands Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing