We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“an excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“an excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Suzy and shown over our accommodation. The location is just excellent, especially as my father has slight mobility issues. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, excellent value for money.
Am happy to recommend Outrigger to others and I'm sure you will receive an equally warm welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Malcom,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and thanks for your time in reviewing us- we appreciate it!
We are glad you and your Dad had a great time together. Great memories for you both.
Have a happy Easter and kind regards to you both.
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    46
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
98
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Conveniently located and easy to find, we spent 4-nights at the Outrigger on our holiday in North Island. Ran by Suzi and Greg who are helpful, efficient and friendly, the Outrigger motel is well appointed, clean and well maintained. Our room had beds for three: a large double-bed room and a single bed in the sitting room, an attached bathroom (with excellent shower), all nice and clean, and well maintained. We would recommend the Outrigger Motel, and would happily visit again – were it not so far from Scotland!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi guys,

You can visit anytime with that Scottish accent - Love it!!

Hope the rest of your journey was fantastic and we thank you very much for being here with us in Paihia. Thanks also for taking the time to review us - much appreciated!

Take care
Suzi & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by the owners(I think Suzy & Greg), I should have written my review earlier, the memory for names is not what it used to be! The owners asked what type of things we liked to do on our holidays. On mentioning that we enjoyed walking Suzi offered to take us to Haruru Falls the next day. We were dropped off there, and we were able to walk approx 5kms to the Waitangi treaty grounds., and then back into Paihia. The walk is amazing, apart from the falls you walk through lush vegetation, mangrove swamps, stop off at Waitangi and then the coastal road.
Our Deluxe Studio on the first floor facing the street was spotlessly clean.The bathroom was very modern. We were given a bottle of milk to use & plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
The Outrigger's location is ideal, it is straight down the road to the shops,restaurants and the harbour. We took a boat over to Russsell,it is an interesting place.well worth a visit.
If we ever get back to NZ we would stay here again and definately for longer. Thoroughly recommend this accommodation and it's owners.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, as lower ones may have vehicles parked outside their windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi there Jackieshols,

Thanks for taking time to write a very descriptive review about the Paihia area and the motel - we appreciate it.
That's fantastic that you enjoyed the walk from the Falls as we love it too.
Again thanks very much and we hope we see you again one day in our part of paradise!

Kind regards
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This Hotel is very central and a 1 minute walk to a 4 square, Indian and pizza/pasta restaurant. Room was smallish but for only $140.00 in such a central location you cant complain. Shower was a little light in water pressure, but a good ceiling fan to keep you cool. Owner/reception lady was friendly and helpful. Ice tray in fridge was handy. Room had a modern feel to it, and everything clean and tidy, will stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Cameron,

Thanks so much for your time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed our convenience in location and thank for for describing the upkeep of our rooms. Much appreciated and great to have you with us in Paihia. We really hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very welcoming hosts - lots of advice which was helpful. Very clean. We were in a studio which was spacious with a great shower. Good kitchen area with rings and microwave. Very easy for walk into town but quiet. Less than 10 minutes from the waterfront. Could do with a couple of luggage racks and as we were on the first floor not easy to sit on the 2 outside chairs as they were on the corridor to adjoining rooms. Paihia is a great base for the area and we had a lovely 3 nights there. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DameB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review and hope all your travels went great. Was lovely to have you here with us in Paihia.
Kind regards
Suzi and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great motel, friendly owners and staff plus a very cool cat! Had three lovely days at Outrigger Motel, quiet unit close to shops and wharf, handy to everything. Wifi, good parking, eco-friendly. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Sassy cat used her cranky charms again! She's an old beautiful ..... cat, that keeps us on our toes - that's for real!
thank for being with us and glad you had a nice time in the Bay of Islands and thank you for taking the time to review us. We have been so lucky to have great guests - thank you.
Cheers
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a well run place with the owners in place for 13 yrs, and it shows. All under control and very functional units. We stayed for 4 nights and the day service was efficient. Car parking is a bit tight but it works.

Room Tip: We were in rm 3. No noise from either side. The ceiling fan deals well with the build up of heat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Great to have you both Alan, hope you enjoyed our piece of paradise in the Bay of Islands. Thanks for taking time out of your tour to comment on us and enjoy the remainder of your trip.
Safe travels,
Suzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#8 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Property: Outrigger Motel
Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet location in central Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing