We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & location”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 28th 2013 - 1st January 2014 in an upstairs Studio unit which was perfect for us. Clean and tidy and really friendly hosts making sure we had everything we needed and offering advice about things to do around the Bay of Islands. Would definitely recommend to all wanting good value accommodation in a superb location only a stones throw from the shops/restaurants in Paihia township.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicMc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you Nicky. Have a good 2014
cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 241 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a room here on the spur of the moment, but we lucked out big time. The room was spacious and well presented, location was fantastic, and facilities were all we could have asked for. The real star here though are the owners, Greg & Suzy, as many others have said. They were only to happy to help us with suggestions for activities, make bookings for us, and recommend particularly beautiful areas to visit. We would have had a great time in the Bay of Islands either way, but Greg & Suzy made sure that our visit was top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Cheers Dan A pleasure to meet you.
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Paihia. Great central location, not on the main street but a quick walk to the wharf and ferry to Russell.
Greg and Suzy were so welcoming, always available if help needed. Their recommendation for our Cape Reinga trip was perfect. Our room was immaculate and bed was very comfy. I appreciated their efforts in being eco-friendly. Definite recommendation if you are staying here...excellent value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Merry Christmas Valerie and wishing you a happy New Year.
Appreciate your comments which will help others in their decision making.
Great to have you in Paihia and seeyou again!
Cheers
Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Greg and Suzi did a great job of hosting us for this event, could always be found for dining tips, great coffee and even arranged golf for us. Everything you could want from a host and such a convenient location for everything you want to do in Paihia

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fordo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Firstly thank you all for being with us. The Swim series event off well and Paihia turned on the weather after a wet start. Thanks to you all and hope the golf went as well as the weekend!
Merry Christmas and Cheers Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thank you for a great, peaceful, relaxing visit in Paihia. The rooms were clean and tidy with all the amenities I required. The service was friendly and welcoming and I even got some chocolate fish as it was my birthday

Room Tip: ground floor was really good for me as I travel heavy, car park directly in front of room so easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Great you enjoyed Paihia Jenny. Hope your birthday celebrations continued on your return home.
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in November and had a wonderful time.

Suzi was so warm and welcoming on our arrival and had lots of good and useful local information to share with us.

Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet and had every amenity we could wish for.

The motel is perfectly located just off the main drag, within a few steps from restaurants, shops and the harbour side.

Suzi and Greg are charming and friendly hosts. We cannot recommend The Outrigger highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely, but all rooms looked equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P59AL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Very nice to have you both with us. Enjoy all of your trip.
Thanks Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love the Outrigger, this is the 4th time i have stayed here, whilst on a weeks fishing trip with a few mates. Greg & Suzi are just awesome hosts, nothing is a problem for them, they even kept us some room in their freezer to keep our freshly caught NZ snapper.

Great location & great people,

Cheers
Craig Stevenson

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Cheers Craig - thanks for the day on the boat with the boys. Cheers Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $87 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our CENTRAL quiet location in beautifiul Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing