We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the Outrigger in Paihia. Greg and Suzi, our hosts, were lovely, most hospitable and made us feel right at home. We had wanted an overnight escape away from Auckland City, but were on a budget. We stayed in an eco room, which was great for our budget and very comfortable. We loved how close the motel was to the centre of town. Would happily stay here again. Very clean. The Eco room was perfect for the two of us. Thanks so much for having us to stay. We hope to be back again soon!

Cheers, Jenna and Kieran :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you very much Jenna and Kieran for taking the time to review us and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The Bay of Islands is the perfect Auckland get away and we are glad you make the choice to do so.
Hope to see you both again and have a great week.
cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

One of the great things about this motel is its proximity to most of the things in Paihai. It was only a short stroll to some of the best eating places as well as to the wharf for cruises. This meant that one could have a short respite from driving to get around. The owners were very helpful with good advice as to the local attractions and operators. The rooms were a good size with a small kitchenette for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks for the great review and yes we love our close proximity to everything too. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the great restaurants in Paihia.
Thanks for being with us at Outrigger and we enjoyed your company also.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

this friendly motel offered a great stay in a happy environment. rooms were spacious, clean and well fitted out. the owners were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. quiet spot very handy to town centre with its many coffee spots and great eating places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennicescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks guys, we are very pleased you enjoyed our village ambience in Paihia that we ourselves love so much. Thanks for the great review and hope we see you again.
Many thanks
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The rooms were very clean and quiet despite being so close to the centre of paihia. The location is awesome. You are within a one minute walk of all the shops and restaurants. The spa on site was also fantastic after a long day. The hosts were also exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. A definite winner for paihia!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thanks very much for the review guys and for taking the time to do so! We hope we see you again soon.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The motel is centrally located and has ample parking. The owners are obliging and knowledgeable. Would recommend this motel to anyone. I marked this daon because of the small size of the room and the cooking facilities. This motel does not reach the same standards regarding being self contained as other NZ motels. They are part of the Host Accommodation chain and this chain is excellent value if staying for a couple of weeks in NZ.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and not one at the front.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIm255073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you Jim for your comments and glad you had a good time. Yes our Eco units are smaller units than the deluxe studios and price reflective (and you can still swing a cat!). Our kitchens contain ceramic stove tops and microwave ovens and full set of cutlery, plates and cooking pots and instruments etc therefore definetly the same as NZ motel standard as reflected in our Qualmark standard and Motel Assn memership. Have a great Easter break and thank you again. Kind regards
Suzi
PS Glad you enjoyed "Host Accommodation" hope you tell all your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Outrigger and this was due in no small part to the friendly and exceptionally helpful owners.Nothing was too much trouble for them .The Outrigger is excellently located near the shops.restraunts and ferry terminal in Paihia ,all of which are within very easy walking distance of the motel.
Onsite parking is available whilst the accommodation is more than adequate for travelling visitors.
The accommodation was also spotless and overall we found the Outrigger perfect for our needs.
The likelyhood is that we will visit Paihia and the Bay of Islands again on our next trip to New Zealand which will probably be in February of next year.
We will certainly wish to stay at the Outrigger again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike7thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks Mike for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Hope you enjoyed our village in the beautiful Bay of Islands as much as we do!
Have a lovely Easter holiday.
Kind regards
Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a great time at the outrigger, from the moment we got there to the moment we left we had fantastic service. nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation is excellent, high standard of cleanliness and decor is very modern. it is very close to the shops, bars and restaurants. perfectly located. would highly recommend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Appreciate your review Stephen and gald you had a great time in Paihia. We really liked having you here also! many thanks again for being with us and hopefully see you all again soon.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $78 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our CENTRAL quiet location in beautifiul Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing