We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite return trip”
Review of Outrigger Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right in the heart of Paihia - easy walking to everywhere. Very clean - something I was most impressed about.
Helpful and friendly - I would stay there again without a doubt.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to anyone travelling up that way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the team at Outrigger - we appreciate it! Have a great day and see you again.
Kindest regards, Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wonderful Motel, very warm and welcoming with lovely owners, very clean and very central, you can save on gas and walk everywhere.. Nice spa for relaxing in after your days activities. We enjoyed our stay here in the sunny Bay of Islands and will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your time to review Outrigger Motel. Glad you had a great time and yes, we'd love to see you again! Cheers Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 5 nights recently at the Outrigger with Suzi, Greg and their family. The warmth of their hospitality was evident right from the moment of arrival. Nothing was ever too much trouble and their local knowledge was invaluable.

The motel is delightful with beautiful clean rooms and manicured gardens. Their location is so central to the towns amenities yet is very peaceful and relaxing.

Paihia's location enables easy access to the Far North of New Zealand and coupled with Greg and Suzis assistance, a holiday at The Outrigger is the complete package.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitraveller1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We are glad you had a great time and thank you for your kind words - we really appreciate your review. We hope we see you again in Paihia.
Kind regards, Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 7 nights here in May we were made very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and serviced everyday. Suzi & Greg were very helpful with suggestions on things to do up north and booked some of our activities for us. The Outrigger is very central to shops, resturants and the wharf we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to our family and friends a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Thank you Colin and Sara for your very kind compliments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia and the Bay of Islands. Thanks for taking the time to do a review and we hope we see you again sometime.
Cheers
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We enjoyed another great stay with Greg & Susi at the Outrigger. A spotless,comfortable & very well appointed unit with cooking facilities. Greg & Susi both have excellent people skills & were most informative & helpful in outlining all available activities in the Bay of Islands.Being without car, they even offered to drive us up hill to the Waitangi Treaty House for sightseeing with suggestion we could easily walk the downhill short trip back to Paihia township.The Outrigger Motel is very conveniently located to the township's central business district & is an easy 5 minute walk from the wharf & bus depot. Highly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: We have always preferred to stay in Unit 11 next to the office.This is slightly elevated from ground...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thanks guys - we appreciate your kind words and glad you had a great stay. It was lovely to have you both again and we wish you a great year ahead. Kind regards
Suzi and Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights here at the end of January, We'd never stayed in a motel before and this gem of a find surpassed our expectations by a mile. The accommodation was well presented and spotless with everything provided that you would need for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable too!

The location is perfect, on a quiet side street yet only a short stroll to the seafront, shops and restaurants. The well stocked supermarket is also very near for all your essentials.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - we just called in on spec after walking by and liking the look of the place from the outside. The motel is just next to the small Police station so I think a quiet night is guaranteed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FestivalFolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it. Thanks! Greg and Suzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great little place with all you need for a stay in Paihia, central, helpfull hosts, clean and tidy room and good bed too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outriggermotel, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thanks Colin - much appreciated comments when you are busy and on the road so much as a corporate. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Motel

Address: 45 Williams Road | PO Box 239, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our CENTRAL quiet location in beautifiul Paihia is only moments from the shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and the wharf. All our units are spacious, clean (serviced daily) and comfortable with full kitchen, en-suite and outdoor seating to soak up the sun. In the evening you can relax in our private spa pool, dine alfresco in our BBQ area or enjoy one of the many fine restaurants just walking distance away. Qualmark Three PLUS STAR and ENVIRO awarded! FREE WIRELESS INTERNET and free parking. Experienced, friendly kiwi hosts, Suzi (Life membership NZ Motel Assoc.2014) And Greg (NZ Local Heroes Award for community) welcome you to Paihia and the Bay of Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing