We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Units are very spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. Yes, it is on the main road, but the view makes it worth while. The owner was so helpful with not only sorting out trips we wanted to do, but keeping in contact while we were away - he was also great in finding someone to help me with my knitting!! The pice was a knock out compared to some of the prices in paihia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda and Ala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello Linda and Ala R,
Thank you for your kind review of Bay Sands, Paihia, New Zealand. Hope to see you again very soon.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location, owner is very friendly and helpful. Clean and adequately equipped, décor is fresh but old fashioned. Bay view rooms along the front have great view across to Russell, though there is traffic noise until about 11pm and from 6am, worth putting up with this (particularly first floor) for the view! Convenient for town, ferry and Waitangi also recommend a drive to Kerikeri and try the fantastic food at Wharapuke, make sure you are hungry!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Brigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

HI Chris-Brigg,
Thank you for staying with us at Bay Sands in Paihia, New Zealand.
Lovely review, thanks ever so much. Hope to see you again some day..
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is such a lovely place....ppl there are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are super clean and I had free tea and coffe, I'm gonna come back and stay there again I highly recommend it....also the ocean is just in front, and the town is just in about 10 min walk , which is soooo good.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Fabiola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank yoyu, Please come again.
kind regards
Tulay
baysandsmotel@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Large airy room, well equipped with a small kitchen. Good bathroom. Very clean. Friendly and very helpful owner (gave us detailed and very good information as to sights we should not miss, when we left). We stayed four nights, and found the location perfect - in the middle between the Waitangi treaty grounds, and the center of Paihia. An easy walk to either one. The beach is right across the road. There is also a well stocked supermarked not far away. Would definitely recommend this for anyone

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi hansas,
Thank you for your visit to Bay Sands Motel, Paihia, New Zealand. Hope to see you again.
Tusen takk!!
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, rooms are spacious and well equipped and there is free tea and coffee which is a massive bonus.

The owner is very helpful and goes out of his way to accommodate. I cannot recommend this place enough and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAW011991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see again soon in Sunny Bay of Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at Bay Sands Motel with my girlfriend while on my gap year. The place is easy to find and only a short walk from the main town. The owner, Pete was very welcoming and gave us lots of information about the local area and where we could find everything we might need. The owner was kind enough to drop us at Haruru Falls (since we did not fancy the whole walk) and also drop us off to meet our Stray bus after our stay. The accommodation was clean and tidy with free WIFI which was very useful. All in all a great place to stay. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priceyy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see again soon in Sunny Bay of Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The motel is in a lovely spot on the waterfront. The rooms are very clean and a decent size. Kitchen facilities are good.

The owners are very helpful and their local knowledge (particularly about where to eat) is well worth tapping into.

The only slight drawback is that the motel is a short walk into town, although that does mean that it's closer to Shippeys and their excellent fish and chips.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alandsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi alandsuzy,
thank you for your visit to Bay sands motel, Paihia, New Zealand. And, yes, Shippey's does a lovely Fish and Chips. Hope to see you again.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#9 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $88 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing