We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Sands Motel at the end of Jan. The Bay Sands was very clean, comfortable and had good facilities, the free WiFi was a bonus. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating. They recommended activities and dining out locations which were of great help. After a busy day it was good to know that we were coming back to a comfortable place where we could just relax.

The location was great 10 minutes walk to the main Paihia township, wharf and the local supermarket.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They were great! Nothing was a problem.

All in all I would highly recommend the Bay Sands Motel and I would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see again soon in Sunny Bay of Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in january 2013 as part of a 2 week north island visit
if it were only about location, this place would easily rate a 5 but its not.
first the good:
the location is unbeatable. it is close to everything and just far enough away from from the madding crowds to be serene. its walking distance also means personal transport is not a must as tour companies are happy to pick up at the door.
we had the top floor seaview studio which afforded great comfort and views. if the 3rd bed could be optional, it would be great as that would afford greater space in the room itself (back to that in a bit).
it did appear to be recently refurbished and had the basic necessities. had an adequate laundry and free wifi was good
the not so good:
like most accommodation in regional NZ, it feels and looks dated with superficial, cosmetic changes to the original establishment (and certainly not cheap....booked thro' agoda which was slightly less than directly through the motel itself. paid less per night for a king premium room at skycity in auckland!!)
the parking bays are really small and causes some concern especially with a rental vehicle
no help in getting luggage to room up the stairs. getting a workout after a 7 hr drive from rotorua, not the best way to start off a stay for me.
first 2 nights were great on the balcony (which is a feature i particularly look for booking accommodation and am happy to pay extra for) but the last night was a disaster. a new family arrived and spent much of the day and night (until about 11.30pm) smoking on the adjoining balcony which is pretty much one open space seperated by a narrow privacy screen. this meant we had to close our balcony door and swelter inside as the smoke and smell made the outside most uncomfortable. as ashtrays are provided on the balconies, we had little choice (have made a mental note to ensure future bookings are at clearly designated non-smoking accommodation but as that is generally the norm now at better establishments, it was an oversight on my part).
do watch out for the slippery stainless steel(??) floor in the shower

overall, not a bad stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wandereringon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hello Wandereringon,
Thank you for stay with us. We value your feedback.
There is a third bed available, that option is shown on our booking partner websites, as well as our own website.
As new owners, we have been working to bring the property up to a high standard.
We cannot comment on your perception of regional NZ.
Yes, Sky City Auckland is a wonderful property.
Our prices are very competitive for the area.
Our facilities are non smoking, but guests will occasionally smoke outdoors, so to discourage litter we provide a place for the extinguished cigarettes.
As for noise, please feel free to alert reception, and we can negotiate peacefulness!
Thank you for letting me know about the shower floors.
I have ordered non-slip appliques for the shower floors, and they should be in place soon.
Please visit our country again soon, and consider another stay with Bay Sands.
Since we have never been rated three on TripAdvisor before, might I ask you to reconsider your rating and give us a Four?

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

As many NZ places to stay this place is a bit dated. The advantage is that our room at least was very big with several sitting areas. Most rooms do not have sea views as the property is side on to the road. Maybe ten minutes walk to town centre. Very clean and exceptionally well equipped. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hello ProblemPage,
Thank you for your stay at Bay Sands.Our staff is here to serve our guests.
We are upgrading the facility inside and out, so you will be pleasantly surprised on your next stay in charming NZ.
Cheers from sunny Paihia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 2 days in top front unit ,neat clean & very comfortable. Equiped with everything required for your convenience. Beach front Motel ,good views of bay from your balcony.
5 minute walk to town centre,convenience store &fish &chips nearby.
Would highly recommend staying here.
Parking bays a bit tight,but plenty across road if required.

Room Tip: 1st Floor front units would be pick for bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thanks for your visit. We are adding new features every day to improve the comfort of our guests. We hope to host you again soon.
Cheers from Sunny Paihia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Peaceful, excelent stop over at a nicely equipped, comfortable, beach front Motel with free Wi-Fi to connect with friends, check mail, plan trips.

Meet the most pleasant owners and manager with a gentl & friendly pet named Coal.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are excellent, we were in the unit 7 on the second floor. Peaceful, just great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tradicional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Every day we work to make our guest experience better. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had 3 nights at the motel. Ground Floor. Still had a good view of the harbour. Found the unit to be clean and tidy with nice appliances in the kitched.. Would have no hessitation in returning. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matts32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hi Matts32,
Thank you for your kind words. Every day we find a way to make BAy Sands better!
Cheers from sunny Paihia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were in great condition and clean. The place is just opposite the beach, sea view from the balcony.
We enjoyed our stay and the plenty of tips what to do in Paihia and Russell.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markusauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaySandsMotel, Owner at Bay Sands Seafront Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hello Markusauckland,
And thank you for your visit.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers from sunny Paihia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.0 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.8 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#22 of 43 in Paihia
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Sands Seafront Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Sands Seafront Studios

Address: 136 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Sands Seafront Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style Studio Apartments located on the waterfront at the best beach in Paihia. Free Kayaks, Bicycles, BBQ facility. Free in room WiFi, SKY TV GUEST SELECT. We are located within easy walking distance of the village square, shops and restaurants. All units are equipped with kitchen facilities.Each unit sleeps three persons with one queen and one single bed. An extra bed can be added for a small charge. The family apartment accommodates up to four persons and has a Queen and two singles.Bay Sands Seafront Studios, the Motel that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Sands Seafront Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Sands Seafront Studios Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing