We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to our NZ holiday”
Review of Ash Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash Grove Motel
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful start to our NZ holiday”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Thank you Wendy and Fred for making our stay in the Bay of Islands a wonderful experience. From arriving to fresh muffins to the excellent advice regarding who to tour with and where to go (and spot on weather forecasting), our stay was perfect. As hosts, we couldn't have hoped for or found better and loved the fact that you are both so down to earth.

The rooms at Ash Grove are well appointed and spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom. Our only slightly negative coments were that the lounge chairs were not a little less upright and a bit more comfortable to relax in and that space is tight when you have a couple of bags. None the less, that aside, we loved our little 'shack' , especially the resident Morepoke owl who was resident not to far away and hooted his way gently through the night. Yes, Ash Grove is a little out of town but with a car, no problems as town and Waitangi are only 5 minutes away - just watch out when leaving the driveway.

It is the perfect place to relax and the gardens, especially around the pool are a great credit to you both. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towrag72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Had a wonderful stay at the Ash Grove. Wendy and Fred are very helpful and welcoming. We had the honeymoon cottage - is away from the pool, kind of the last unit, so quiet and kind of on its own. Everything was spotless and clean. There is a DVD library in the office to borrow if you want to watch a DVD, the Spa and pool were great and there is laundry onsite too - 2 washers and a dryer. The location is a bit out of town - too far to walk, but Wendy ran us into town and we took a taxi back for about $12NZD. I imagine when it is busy in the summer that this is a perfect place to stay to get away from all the crowds in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights when we first arrived in NZ. Arrived late at night after a 26 hour flight and were welcomed with home made muffins and a gorgeous room. The room was spotless and the English owners were very friendly and gave great advice. We booked some tours from the front dest which were fantastic - especially the day trip to Cape Reinga. Cannot rate this place highly enough, especially as it was such a good price too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Clean, modern well equipped room. Friendly owners, great facilities

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights at this motel and were very pleased with our choice. The room was immaculately clean,the decoration was modern and the welcome very friendly. They have a lovely pool but unfortunately it was not warm enough to try it. The only very slight quibble would be that it is slightly out of town but wouldn't worry you if you have a car. The breakfast was very filling and reasonably priced. No hot breakfast was available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife spent 2 days at Paihia with an overnight stay at Ash Grove. We wish we would have planned more time! Wendy & Fred were very friendly and gracious and keep a very well kept/maintained, clean motel. Our room was well decorated and more than big enough for my wife and I. Though not in downtown Paihia, you are only 5 minutes away from the Treaty Grounds and downtown Paihia, so don't let the Google maps make you think you are out in the boondocks - you're not. Be sure to pick Wendy or Fred's brain for ideas of what to see, go, or eat. They made very good suggestions on the meal (Peppercorn) as well as sights (Flagstaff Hill at Russell-best view around). Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillrider71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymington
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

stayed 4 nights early March 09. Owners were very appreciative of our business and in return gave us service beyond reproach. Excellent facilities, very quiet and the garden was lovely to rest in. Our most comfortable stay in all of N.Z.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newforesterLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
2.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
2.1 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Grove Motel

Property: Ash Grove Motel
Address: Ash Grove Circle | Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ash Grove Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Qualmark and Qualmark Green rated motel in Haruru Falls. Set in stunning gardens with a fabulous pool. Relax in our beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of New Zealand paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ash Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Grove Boutique Hotel
Ash Grove Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing