We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest accomodations of our 7 week trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nicest accomodations of our 7 week trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Anchorage is not fancy, just clean and confortable with a beautiful location. The Host were plesant and accomodating. We stayed 8 days and really enjoyed the Bay of Islands and most of the northern section of New Zealand. We could prepare our own meals and enjoy the pool each afternoon. Like all motels in Paihai, the main road is between the motel and the beach, but being at the end of the beach the traffic dissapeared each evening and we enjoyed quite nights on a good bed. (My wife has back problems and had no difficulties at the Anchorage.) We highly recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Anchorage Motel is an excellent well run and modern facility . It has a superb view , good location and a lovely pool/spa area , which we all enjoyed . Friendly mangement and excellent rooms make the Anchorage an excellent establishment in the Bay of Islands
We really enjoyed our stay and would go back again

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BernieCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We found Aileen, in particular, to be extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our holiday was a family xmas present, and she put together a small presentation pak - accommodation vouchers, pamphlets etc - so we would have something to put under the xmas tree. That was great, we appreciated that. Once we got there she went out of her way to make sure our stay was a good one.
We bk'd 3 rooms, 2 x couples and 1 x family of 4 so were able to get a good feel of what was available. No one had any complaints. The rooms were comfortable, clean and adequately fitted out.
The location was fantastic, situated right across the road from a small beach and within very easy walking distance to all Paihia amenities. Heaps to do around the area.
The kids,11 and 8, loved the pool especially and us adults enjoyed being able to use the Bar b Cue around the pool.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Waikato
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Room was on the top floor and we would have had a beautiful view if it wasn't for the heavy rain we had. Room was very spacious and comfortable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here in the the beginning of December 2010 for 3 nights, 2 nights in the room at the back and one night in a room at the front. The rooms were very good, spacious and clean. The hosts Aileen and Denis gave us helpful and friendly service and the location was excellent, near the beach front. So we can absolutely recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have been to the Bay of Islands twice now and I loved the Anchorage, as did the other three fellow Texans who had traveled down under with me from the States. The rooms all have wonderful views of the Bay and Russell. Everything in town is in walking distance from the hotel, the beach is right across the street, good restaurants are quite nearby and the owners and their son were more than helpful in aiding you on your plans of exploring the area. I would recommend the Anchorage to anyone who wants to save a dollar or two and still enjoy the delights of the Bay of Islands. Birds sing every morning and they're a lot of them...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAroha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

My husdand and I with friends have been going to Paihia for several years and we make it a must that we stay at the Anchorage Motel as it is clean and the service is great.
The rooms are always clean and tidy,and the cleaners are all friendly.
The motel is in a great place with a cafe/ Restaurant at the entrance.
The spa and pool area are always clean and tidy.
The Managers are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you are settled and you are happy with your room.
We also take our boat up for the fishing and have no trouble with parking at the back and the security is excellent.
I would like to thank The Managers of Anchorage Motel for making our stays at Paihia a very enjoyable time.
Also thank you for the warm welcome and friendly smile when we stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing