We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Motel
Nearby Hotels
$177
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl of the Bay(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$82
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$63
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ash Grove Boutique Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$80
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
329
143
17
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
143
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadgreat locationupstairs roomspa poolwithin easy walking distancegreat place to stayfirst floorstay there againspent two nightsfamily holidaybeach frontgreat roomenjoyed our staybbq areabed was very comfortablebars and restaurantshelpful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 496 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived on mass (swimming club). Welcomed from the start. Very friendly, lovely rooms and right next door to a fantastic restaurant. Good sized rooms. We had a 1 bedroom suite with good kitchen facilities and lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thankyou to the swimming club too, for choosing the Anchorage Motel as your group accommodation. It appears our facilities and location appeal to your group and we look forward to hosting you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived in the middle of a storm and were given excellent directions by Aileen - who had worked out the best routes for us to travel on as many main roads were closed. We stayed 5 nights in a spacious, warm, spotless room, with magnificent views of the bay and a delightful outdoor spa. The location was within easy walking distance to the shops and we found it a great spot for relaxing as well as using as a base to get around and see more of Northland. Aileen really looked after us - we got a fresh newspaper each morning, free wifi, laundry services and bottled water when it looked like the town supply was running out. We felt very welcomed and would happily recommend the Anchorage to others.

Room Tip: We were upstairs with a sea view. It was quiet and private.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miriama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We feel you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us under very trying circumstances. Aileen worked hard to make your stay as stress free as possible and you show much appreciation for our facilities and location. It would of been nice to have received an overall higher score as your comments surely suggested, however we really appreciate you spreading the word that Anchorage Motel is a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Welcomed in from the storm by our lovely host Aileen who guided us through our warm spotless 3 bed unit
Beds very comfortable kids enjoyed having their own tv so Dad could watch Rugby
Enjoyed the many activities the bay and winterless north have to offer but it was so nice to come back to a hot bubbly spa pool at night
Thanks for a great holiday look forward to coming back
Regards Parata's

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thankyou Parata’s for a lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed our many activities the lovely Bay of Islands have on offer. We are pleased you found our facilities up there with our comfy beds and warm spotless rooms. We would very much like to have you back for another great experience in the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay for two nights at the Anchorage Motel early July,we received an extremely friendly welcome from our host Aileen,who was happy to show us through a unit,which was very well appointed,good sized bedroom,huge bathroom,large living / kitchen area. The unit was exceptionally clean throughout.Great views from our 2nd floor unit,5 minutes walk into town, we would definitely stay again. Ian and Kay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanH582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, General Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you Ian and Kay for taking the time to review our two bedroom apartment. Your special mention of our location and views of the Bay is very much appreciated. We have put a lot of effort into keeping our rooms looking modern and our staff is meticulous in maintaining the cleanliness of them. Aileen was absolutely gutted by the review your visitors were able to post on TripAdvisor as she tirelessly strives to ensure our guests and their visitors have a memorable stay at our place. It’s very disappointing and as a result of that review we have slipped three very costly places for accommodation in Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We didn't actually stay here, but visited friends who do. The motel is directly opposite the beach with lovely views. Unit was a good size and was spotlessly clean and lovely décor. The disappointing thing was that one of the couches (that was also a pull out bed) had the mattress missing, so when sitting on it you sunk extremely low and had problems getting up out of it. When our friends checked out they mentioned it to the owner, who told them she had taken it out for her granddaughter to sleep on! And that she thought it wouldn't be needed! And that most people sit on the other couch to watch tele anyway. Quite poor on her behalf I think. What if they both wanted a couch each to lie and and watch tele. let alone having visitors that were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for the review. We are disappointed that for such a small issue that would have been remedied in less than five minutes has cost us a bad review.
What was explained to your friends who after all were the guests staying with us, was that I had completely forgotten that I had taken the mattress out for my granddaughter to sleep on. I most sincerely apologised for the oversight and said I was unaware that the removal of the mattress would upset the comfort of someone sitting on it. Now this was an honest mistake that we could have fixed immediately by replacing it with another mattress from an unoccupied unit and you all could have enjoyed the rugby in comfort.
When I said to our guest “I thought it wouldn’t be needed”, I meant as a sofa bed and at no time did I say or would I have ever said that only one couch is all that is needed to watch television.
Our rooms have been designed to enhance our guests comfort with nice décor and furniture. To receive such a harsh review is disappointing and damaging for our business.
PS. Very interesting that our next review is from the guests whom you visited and they loved the place and rated us accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews