We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a great 5 night stay in room 10 in the Anchorage Motel. The room was well presented with wonderful artwork and was clean and tidy. Amazing beach views from our room, and it was just across the road to the beach. We had help from Aileen to book some activities and got an extra discount card for the Waterfront Restaurant which was a great touch. Being on the main street did mean that it was reasonably noisy with road noise, however this died out into the evening pretty quickly. Only other negative was the noise from other rooms and the fridge, however ear plugs were provided to alleviate this. We loved the salt water swimming pool and spa. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Anchorage to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want to get the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi MS……we are happy to know you had 5 great nights staying at the Anchorage Motel. We appreciate your entire comments on our facilities and rooms as well as the help and knowledge we were able to pass on. We hope that prospective guests reading your review take up your recommendation to stay with us in the lovely Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    129
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
248
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great location to explore the Bay of Islands.Rooms were clean and to a good standard.The owners were very knowledgable and helpful and allowed us to leave our car there all day.
Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_5391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Annie…..Thank you for the nice review. We have owned and run this establishment for more than 15 years, setting high standards with our recent refurbishments. We have gained a lot of area knowledge in that time and therefore we are well qualified to advise on all activities. We would like to have you stay again if ever you are back in the Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

All very good, very clean neat and tidy, great view of the Bay of Islands from our room 1st floor.
A very good location for exploring other areas either by boat, car or even dare I say by foot!
Would certainly stay again

Room Tip: To see the view 1st floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlastairB777B744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Alastair…..We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and take note that you found everything was to your liking. Our location as you noted is spot on for exploring the lovely Bay of Islands. Once again our lovely sea views were made mention, something that only a few places can offer. Nice to hear that you would definitely stay again if you ever returned to Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Anchorage Motel, the weather was great, view are amazing, the staff are awesome, the room was great, very comfortable bed great facilities. A+ great value. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Abby W… Thank you for the nice comments in your recent review. Our house maids take pride in the standards that they set and we as the owners are always striving to improve the standard of our beds so as to insure our guests get a good night’s sleep. Great to see that you not only appreciated our amazing sea views but also the rest of our facilities. Look forward to your next visit when up in the Bay of Islands again. Regards… Owner’s…. Denis & Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Lovely, beautiful, very nice and helpful people.
large, beautiful pool. modern bathrooms and plenty of space for the Cook.
We had more time, then we're like countries remained.
We come back another time!
Thank you very much <3

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss-Suzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Swiss-Suzana……We loved your review, especially the nice comments on our modern refurbed bathrooms and the extra space that this room provides. We are very much looking forward to your next visit when in the lovely Bay of Island’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Good view from this motel a shirt walk to tiwn ,beachs snd bars. A pleasent walk along the front to the ferry to russel. Hotel was near the corner by the road into town and a little nosiey if your a light sleeper ear plugs where provided.Accomadation was in need of some sound proofing as woke up by next door leaving at 6.30am and the sliding door to the toilet was noisey.On the whole good place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rosiejacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Rosie…we very much appreciate your review. Our location is very central to all of the amenities our little town has to offer. Sorry to hear about the noise problem, we have addressed it by installing double glazing, ceiling and wall sound proofing, however some guests can be inconsiderate towards neighbours and be disturbing no matter what lengths we have done to alleviate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Recently back from trip to Australia and New Zealand. One of the principal highlights was a 4 night stay at the Anchorage Motel in Paihia. The accommodation was first class - superbly appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchen area, and excellent bathroom/shower facilities. The car could be parked outside the apartment with glorious views of the garden, swimming pool, sun-bathing area then on to the Pacific Ocean. Aileen proved to be an most helpful and cheerful hostess, (husband Denis was out winning a fishing competition !). We would wholeheartedly recommend this motel to anybody visiting the Bay of Island area.

Room Tip: Go or the top of the range rooms to prevent having to carry cases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Alan…we are proud to know staying at our motel was a highlight to your NZ trip. We appreciate your entire comments on our facilities and rooms as well as the help and knowledge we were able to pass on. We hope that prospective guests reading your review take up your recommendation to stay with us in the lovely Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing