We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-nighter at the Anchorage”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Manukau, New Zealand
1 review
“Over-nighter at the Anchorage”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We took a road trip up to Paihia with the kids, and had been recommended the motel from a family member, we didn't book we just thought we would wing it, and luckily we were able to get a room with a fabulous view of the beach, the room was beautiful so crisp and fresh. Great swimming pool and spa . Eileen was very helpful with bookings and recommendations of sights and restaurants. Loved it will definitely go back and highly recommended to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Sonya, We where really glad to be able to fit you and your family in, especially when you came by recommendation :) Thanks for your feedback it’s really nice to know when someone has enjoyed the facilities and their stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a very good holiday just because of the Anchorage motel everything was perfect,specially smoke free area tidy,clean,nice and clean pool we used bbq,friendly staff,good cervices specially sea view,we will definitely stay there again.many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi, it’s great that you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer here at the Anchorage from pools, bbq, clean rooms and great service but especially the wonderful view across the bay. We would love to have you stay again and hope that happens sometime in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiuku, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Enjoyed our stay immensely. Spotlessly clean and the Staff were really helpful, We needed cleaning products to clean a headstone and the owner gave them to us at no charge. Thank you Eileen!! We would recommend the motel to anyone and would stay again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyjen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to be able to help you out with the cleaning products! Thanks for the recommendation. Kind regards and hopefully your next visit to Paihia is not too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a fabulous winter break at the Anchorage, Eileen and Denis were very friendly and helpful. The unit was clean and tidy and the ladies who came in daily to service the room were also very friendly. I would not hesitate in recommending the Anchorage and will definitly stay there again.
Great Choice
ps The restaurant next doors was a great choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs great views and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your winter break. Our staff are very important to us and the running of the business, I will pass on your kind words and appreciation to them. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Bay of Islands. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great Motel...clean and friendly,great unit servicing, bbq and pool area tasteful, fabulous help from the owners with bookings...they were very patient and helpful as we had a few decisions to make.
The motel is in the quieter end of town and I could even hear the sea. I would definitely stay here again. THANK YOU

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Trudy, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the peace and quiet on offer from our location. It is great being able to hear the sound of the ocean as you drift off. It was a pleasure to be able to help you enjoy the wonders of the Bay and we look forward to having you return again to enjoy some more! Kind regards & thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Anchorage in Pahia for a week from the 2nd of Jan and we have to say that it was probably our best decision. The owners have a typical Kiwi "can do" attitude. It seems that nothing we asked was too much of a problem, even when we decided to extend our original 4 day stay to 7 days. Both Aileen and Denis were great hosts and very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and excursions.
The rooms are kept to a high standard of cleanliness and are very comfortable.
We would highly recommend the Anchorage and are looking forward to staying there on our next trip to the Bay of Islands.
Overall "a brilliant stay"
Thanks.
Tony and Trish Reay

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms on the first floor. (fabulous view and balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tony & Trish, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and holiday in Paihia, that we were able to extend your stay was a great bonus! It is always a pleasure when we can share our local knowledge and send our visitor’s out to see and explore the wonderful things we have to offer in the Bay of Islands. We believe there is no better place!! J We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return visits. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very clean and tidy unit in excellent condition.
Some TV reception was a bit poor.
Spa pool was the cleanest I've ever seen in a Hotel/ Motel.
We were on the ground floor, sound insulation to upper level was poor.
However they did supply ear plugs. (which I did use).
Overall our kids enjoyed the pool area and the proximity to the beach.
Great location.

Room Tip: Upper level should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Phil, thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s great that you and your family enjoyed the facilities and location on offer here at the Anchorage. Hopefully we get to see you again sometime in the future and we can accommodate you in one of our upstairs rooms. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
621 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing