We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Motel
Nearby Hotels
Admiral's View Lodge(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$83
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$50
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$48
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abri Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
333
148
17
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
148
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadgreat locationupstairs roomspa bathwithin easy walking distancegreat place to staypool and hot tubfirst floorstay there againspent two nightsfamily holidayenjoyed our staygreat roombeach frontbbq areabed was very comfortablebars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 505 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

From start to finish,this has been the best accommodation.
We felt that Denis & Ails treated us just like their best friends.
The motel itself is an example as to how a motel should be presented.
Everything was neat,tidy & well organised. Even the kitchen utensils are arranged in a special position .And all of the motel is spotless.
The beds are extremely comfortable & there is practically no traffic noise.
Also, everything in the motel works.
Ailsa also gave us invaluable advice in our tourism planning and booked us on the famous Lion NZ sailing day.
We will certainly be staying here again when we come back to the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: Just ask Ails.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanP758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis P, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review, it was a pleasure having you stay here with us at the Anchorage!!! Im am very porud to here you say that this has been the best accommodation you have stayed at from start to finish. We put in a lot of time and effort in to keep our Motel clean, tidy and spotless and im glad to read thats this has been noticed. We would love to have you stay with us again if you are ever in the Bay of Islands again. Thank you once again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were recommended this motel by friends on our first visit to Paihia so having enjoyed our stay we used it again for our second visit. The good position of the motel at the beginning of the road into Paihia means it is quiet and our first floor room meant we had a good view over the front grounds to the sea beyond. The shops, restaurants and sight-seeing venues are within easy walking distance. The room was well equipped with everything we needed, the queen sized bed was comfortable and the outside seat and table an added bonus for reading or chatting to neighbours. Our hosts Aileen and Dennis made us very welcome, once again, booked our trips for us and generally did everything they could to make our second stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squidge190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and thank you for returning to our Motel it was a pleasure to have you again. I am happy to hear you enjoy the beautiful views just as much as we do!! The great thing about our location is that if you don't feel like driving everything is within walking distance. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the upper floor. The view of the bay was magnificent. The bed was very comfortable and the room was both spacious and clean. The staff were most friendly & answered our email enquiry within hours when we were booking our room. We will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review our Motel. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here with us at the Anchorage. We take a lot of pride in the standard that we keep our units, I appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Aileen welcomed us and offered a wonderful upgrade. After 2 weeks in campervan in the South Island the bed was so wonderful. I should mention the amenities in the room. All the little shower potions were in place, but most wonderful was the very complete hot beverage service including tea, instant coffee, ground coffee for plunger coffeee (French Press) and hot chocolage.
Aileen gave me a local area briefing and restaurant recommendations that were SPOT ON.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Bay of islands and there are no buildings obstructing the view. We stayed ground floor and I think view from second floor would be ev.en better
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Im am glad to hear that after travelling for two weeks in a campervan you were able to have a good night sleep in our comfortable beds and take full advantage of our in room amenities. We would love to wlecome you back if you are ever in the beautiful Bay of Islands again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in March. The room itself was very good, with a king-sized bed in the main room, and two singles in a back bedroom (which we did not have to use). The room was well-equipped and modern. What spoilt it for us was the fact that the room was entered by a large french window at the front. There was a double (imovable) seat to one side of the window, which was used by our neighbours - which meant that when we went in we had to literally reach over them to open the window, and when we were in our room, we felt we were constantly overlooked by them. Unfortunately, it was not possible to move the seat further along, as it was screwed to the floor. We also noticed a rather unpleasant smell in the room, for which we could not find the source, and on the first night we had a small invasion of ants which we managed to contain. The hotel in in a good position, as others have noted, but we would have preferred a room on the upper floor which might have provided a greater degree of privacy.

Room Tip: Upstairs might have a better view and a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews