We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean & Great views”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean & Great views”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, we had a 1 bedroom self contained apt. It was very clean & comfortable with plenty of towels & toiletries, we had an upstairs apt. with great views over the water. The Anchorage has a Restaurant next door and is a 5 min walk to town centre, with many Restaurants and eateries. It's also close to the Marina and pickup locations for boat trips to the Hole in the Rock or the Ferry to Russell Island. Aileen was very helpful and assisted with our bookings to the Whole in the Rock and our Dune Rider trip to Cape Reinga and any other information we required.
Would recommend The Anchorage and would definitely stay again if we visit Paihia.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our motel. We were delighted to have you stay with us and pleased you were able to stay in one of our upstairs rooms to take advantage of the stunning views. It is always a pleasure to be able to provide a full tour booking service from our motel and we are glad you got to experience what the beautiful Bay of Islands has to offer, both on the water and the land! We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are able to take a break to Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the anchorage motel in a room up stairs. Great views over to Russell every night while sitting out on the balcony. Rooms have a modern feel and the bed was very comfortable. Aileen was great, made us feel very much at home from the moment we got there. Would defiantly recommend to anyone wanting a great place to stay in paihia!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind recommendation. It is always fulfilling to know we are "on the right track" with our service and hospitality. We are constantly updating our rooms to make sure our guests feel welcomed and comfortable during their stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at the Anchorage and we would love to welcome you back when you next visit Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location overlooking Pahia beach and only a short walk from the main part. Our room was clean and spacious with a great view across the sea and garden chairs on the balcony - the perfect place to relax and enjoy an afternoon wine. Great swimming pool with hot tub and bbq area. This motel essentially has everything you could possibly need for a nice relaxing break.

The room was cleaned every day by the lovely housekeepers. We were particularly impressed with the service and hospitality of Aileen (the owner) who was on hand if there was anything we needed but gave us our own space.

Its also worth mentioning that the bed was huge and so comfortable!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Your positive review is much appreciated. We are privileged to be able to share our wonderful location and stunning view with our guests. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our housekeeping staff also. We have just added extra comfort to our mattresses so it is great to hear you had a restful sleep. We thank you for staying with us at the Anchorage and would love to see you again the next time you are visiting the beautiful Bay of Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently had 5 nights in the Bay of Islands staying at Anchorage Motel. The standard of service was impeccable. One particularly cold day the manager had come in and turned our heat pump on so that the unit would be warm when we returned after our day out - wonderful and much appreciated. The bed was so comfortable and lovely to have fresh towels every day. We recommend it highly and will certainly be back. There is a restaurant right next door if one doesn't want to cook which has special offers for guests. Although being off season it was too cold to use the lovely pool we really enjoyed the spa pool after a days sightseeing.

Room Tip: We really were glad that we had paid the little bit extra and got an upstairs room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandmsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your appreciative review. Our team at the Anchorage do pride ourselves on providing a high level of service so it's very rewarding to hear that we are exceeding our guests expectations. It is always a pleasure to be able to do the "little things" that add to our guests comfort. We are glad you got to relax and enjoy the spa and hopefully next time the weather will be kind enough to indulge in the pool! Lovely to have you stay, we look foward to being able to host you again the next time you visit Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked in here for one day but after talking to Aileen and seeing the room, we booked for another 2 days . A lovely way to end our New Zealand holiday. Aileen was so helpful told us what to see booked tour and even drove us to the tour departure area in her own vehicle. The room was spacious clean and well appointed. It is a short walk to the main area of town and has great views of the bay of islands. We had a fantastic stay here and would do so again when able

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your appreciative comments. We are delighted you were able to spend more time with us and enjoy what Paihia has to offer. We do take pride in providing our guests with high quality and exceptionally clean rooms and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our house keeping staff. It is always a pleasure to be able to go that "extra mile" for our guests to make sure their stay is the best it can be and we would love to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived in Paihia on a horrible windy rainy day. When we checked into the Anchorage our day became brighter... we'd been lucky enough to be upgraded for free! Being 3 uni students travelling on a tight budget we originally had booked the budget studio (Not exactly sure what the upgraded rooms title was, but it was ground level - king and a single bed - facing the sea). As it turned out .. the weather was horrible for the majority of our stay so we spent alot of time in our room, so it was nice to be in the bigger room.
The owners were lovely. So ridiculously accommodating and helpful, even came to check on us and ask if we would like a lift into town with them so we weren't caught in the rain. Even though the walk is only about 5 minutes.
Highly recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KneecoleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Anchorage Motel. Your positive feedback and kind comments are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you stay and lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us despite the weather! Our team here at the Anchorage always aims to do that little bit extra to make sure our guests get the most out of their stay with us. We would love to welcome you back again some day and hopefully the weather will be kinder to you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Anchorage Motel for 5 nights in early March. It was very comfortable, clean and excellent position - only 5 minutes flat walk to shops, restaurants and ferry to Russell. Lovely water views across Bay. Pool, BBQ and spa were well used and great to have a room where you have the option of cooking. Owner was so friendly and helpful, even ran us to the ferry to save time for our Hole in the Wall cruise. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBerrySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your appreciative comments. Yes we do take pride in being so cenveniently located to all local amenities and always providing exceptionally clean rooms, not to mention the outstanding sea views! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we would love to host you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing