We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$153
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
330
144
17
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
144
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadgreat locationupstairs roomspa poolwithin easy walking distancegreat place to stayfirst floorstay there againspent two nightsfamily holidaybeach frontgreat roomenjoyed our staybbq areabed was very comfortablebars and restaurantshelpful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 498 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

stayed here for a night as part of a Bay of Islands trip
clean room
had a heat pump! most of their rooms do but not all
sky tv
kitchen had mini fridge, stove top cooking surface, kettle
comfortable queen bed, kitchen table, couch
would stay here again
ask the reception for a discount on the boat tours - they can discount 10%
100 MB free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredShuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your time to review our motel. We are happy you were able to take time out at the Anchorage while visiting the beautiful Bay of Islands. Yes, for our guests comfort, we have provided heat pumps in all our rooms except for our one budget studio room located at the back of the motel. We are also pleased to be able to offer discounts on local tours and restaurants and free WIFI to all our guests as part of our "welcome" package. We would love to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and i stayed at 5 hotels/motels during our recent holiday. This was the best. Lovely owner who was very helpful. Great view and unit spacious and spotless.We were only sorry we only stayed 2 nights.We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevy913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you and your wife were able to enjoy the many attractions our little "slice of heaven" has to offer. It is very rewarding to hear we rated as the "best" accommodation you stayed at during your time away. Your positive comments on the clean and spacious units are much appreciated as this is something we take particular pride in! We would love to welcome you back again on your next visit to the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After having some pretty average accommodation in the North it was a pleasure to stay here, It was clean comfortable had everthing we needed plus more and was excellent value for money. An added bonus was the balcony views - stunning. Will definetly be back.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Maree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. As always, it is a pleasure to hear we have exceeded our guests expectations. We are always proud of the stunning sea views our guests can enjoy while staying here and of the clean modern rooms we provide . Would love to see you again the next time you visit Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent two nights at this motel in March 2012 and had a fabulous time. As a family with a teenage daughter we were worried that she would end up sleeping on a pull out sofa, but the family room had a separate bedroom with two full sized single beds and a wardrobe/dressing table. We had absolutely everything we needed and more, from a well decorated and modern living area with super bed, to a spotless bathroom with large shower, to a plentiful supply of tea and coffee etc that was replenished on the second day. The room was extremely clean and overlooked the spacious covered bbq area which had ample seating for the party of 20 people that enjoyed it. The hot tub was an unexpected bonus and a welcome relief after a long drive in poor weather. The motel might be on the road across from the beach but we didn't hear any noise overnight at all. We were welcomed by a fabulous host who did everything to make our stay spectacular. Having stayed in at least 9 different motels and B & B's during our 3 week visit to New Zealand, The Anchorage was definitely one of the cleanest and most modern and accommodating that we experienced. Will certainly stay here again when we next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandMarieDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to accommodate your family in March and it is always nice to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit. Yes our one bedroom units are ideal for families and we are always able to arrange the beds to best suit the needs of our guests. We are glad you were able to experience what the Anchorage has to offer including our spa and poolside BBQ. It is rewarding to hear we were among the best of your NZ accommodation experiences and we would love to host you again on your next visit to the Bay of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Anchorage Motel for two days in March prior to a family wedding and can honestly say that our stay there was excellent. Due to the accommodation and special thanks to Aileen it certainly got the wedding celebrations off to a great start.
Location:- The Motel is directly across the road to the beach and 5 minutes walk into Paihia town centre.
Rooms:- The room we stayed in, situated on the ground floor was very comfortable, recently refurbished, light and well decorated with all the modern appliances you would expect and inclusive of tea,coffee and milk. In addition the bathroom was massive and fitted with a whirl pool bath. Again all fixtures and fittings looked new and appeared to be of good quality. Room cleaned impeccably on a daily basis.
Grounds:- There was a pool, jacuzzi and large BBQ situated to the front of the motel all of which our wedding party made good use of.
Staff:- I cannot praise the staff enough, they where helpful and polite and even made arrangements for several of our guests to check in very late at night without any problems.
Overall:- An excellent choice whilst staying in Paihia and would recommend the Anchorage Motel without hesitation.

Room Tip: I wrote this review after staying in a ground floor room, all of which look towards the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews