We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

In February 2012, my husband and i stayed here for three nights. The service was great, the rooms had great views, and very tastefully done. Very clean. So close to all the restaurants, the wharf, and the ocean just across the road. All this and no noise. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks to Host, Aileen for all your wonderfull help and friendly service.

Room Tip: Top floors would have better views, but downstairs still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Hi Dale m, Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 467 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed three nights but did an overnight cruise in the middle of these three days. Without hesitation we were offered the facility of leaving our car parked on the property whilst we went on the cruise. We felt at home here, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is great looking across onto the bay and the town centre is a pleasant level stroll just a few minutes away.nice pool era for. Relax and a sunbathe in peace
On the day of the cruise Aileen told us that there was no rush to check out ,again going the extra mile for our benefit. Thank you
It is a motel so privacy is not paramount and being on the beachfront you pay for the view by being close to the road noise, but all in all a good place to stay on the waterfront in Paihia.
Would I stay here again?
Yes definitely for the location and the very friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Aandroid. We stayed in both upper and lower rooms Lower ground floor room had a large accessible w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Rooms are clean, modern and well equipped with efficiencies. Make sure you ask for a second floor location as these provide a great view of the water. Motel has a nice pool, lots of free parking, seating on the balcony and even a black lab to great you! Easy walk to all the attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Well set out motel with lovely fittings and comfortable funishings. Family friendly but the boys had difficulty sleeping due to the road noise. Great pool and a very short walk into town. Great pool and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: If you aren't use to road noise, ask for a room closest to the office and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZAmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and this motel was the perfect place for us. Great location opposite beach and within walking distance to cafe's, restaurants and the harbour & pier. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the pool, spa and beach. This was the most expensive accommodation on our trip but I think thats because of the location. The room was large & really well fitted out for self contained cooking if that is what you wanted to do. The bathroom was HUGE and I loved it. Our tours were booked for us before we even arrived and that was a great service provided. We would definitely come back and would also recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor gives the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice , clean hotel. No TV and aircon.in main bedroom. Internet not included and quite expensive.
Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner/Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Victeeth
We are not sure that your Review is based on our facility as your comments are not in keeping with our room chattels or our policies.
Our main bedroom / living rooms are all furnished with 32inch flat screen TV's(1 has a 46incher) and in all those that have seperate bedrooms as well, those bedrooms are all furnished with 26inch flat screen TV's to.
We are one of only a very few accommodation providers in Paihia that have air conditioning / heat pumps in their apartments. This we feel helps meet the modern day guests expectations to which we also provide on arrival, complimentary free internet access.
Our best regards
Denis and Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have stayed here and were not disappointed on our return visit. The hospitality is as great as ever and Aileen and Denis certainly make one feel at home and has the happy knack of pointing you in the right direction for dinning. Love the new bathroom. We will return.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the best views of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiRowenaHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $90 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing