We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, brilliant service - a great experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location, brilliant service - a great experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a great experience even though it was winter. The rooms were comfortable, well laid out and had everything we needed. The staff were a great help and even gave us a lift along to the dolphin searching to save time. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    129
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
248
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My partner and I had a room and my dad and brother shared a room. They both had HUGE Tv's which was awesome and we watched a few movies that were on.
The room was great for just the two of us. I loved how it was so close to the beach and town. On the first night we decided to go out for dinner and only took a short walk down the road to the restaurant 35○, where there's the floor to ceiling aquarium. The owners were very lovely and even gave us a voucher for a restaurant about 5min walk from the motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alf0798, Owner at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hi Aimee P13
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage Motel. Thank you for the positive feed back on your experience while staying at our property. It is good to see that our guests are appreciating the refurbished facilities and new air conditioning. Hope to see you again. Regards Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Friendly owners,modern decor, lovely views, really clean, I would certainly stay there again.Thanks Ray & Frances.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We found the Anchorage Motel exceptional value for money after comparing what was on offer at overinflated prices in other motels/hotels! The hostess Aileen was very pleasant, helpful and the rooms were quiet, even though it is on the corner of a busy road. Everything was clean and tastefully done. Thanks for a very enjoyable nights stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Perfect place to stay opposite the beach looking out at the ocean and islands. Close to everything and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We arrived in Paihia not having plans or knowing what to expect. We looked at several different facilities, but decided on the Anchorage Motel because it was economical and in a great location. We could walk to everything. Liz, who had only worked at the motel for a week, was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay exploring Paihia and the Bay of Islands--wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DE19958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Look overall this place is Ok, it has an amazing view, great pool, great location but......The bed was shocking and dipped in the middle with terrible pillows!!! The overall room is let down by the cheap look motel doona covers which was quite suprising considering the overall modern feel of the rooms. The bathrooms are a little dated but apparantly are under renovations. The owner however is very helpful and recommended some great trips. It is located next door to a great resturant!!! Would stay again for sure if beds and pillows were looked at.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markymeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner/Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback and we appreciate your input
If only you had brought your concerns to our attention at the time we would have done our best to address them.
Normally our guests compliment us on just how comfortable our beds are. Yours is our first ever complaint from all reviews- and we shall now be asking others how they are finding them.
As for the pillows most guests want to take them home with them.
Due to way the review system works we have absolutely no idea as to which room the bed in question is located for immediate replacement.
It was nice to hear that management and the sea views were right up there along with facilities and location, however a guests comfort expectations is one of the greatest challenges to moteliers.
Sincerely, Denis and Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing