We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great manager, shocker bed!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great view, great manager, shocker bed!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Look overall this place is Ok, it has an amazing view, great pool, great location but......The bed was shocking and dipped in the middle with terrible pillows!!! The overall room is let down by the cheap look motel doona covers which was quite suprising considering the overall modern feel of the rooms. The bathrooms are a little dated but apparantly are under renovations. The owner however is very helpful and recommended some great trips. It is located next door to a great resturant!!! Would stay again for sure if beds and pillows were looked at.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markymeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner/Manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback and we appreciate your input
If only you had brought your concerns to our attention at the time we would have done our best to address them.
Normally our guests compliment us on just how comfortable our beds are. Yours is our first ever complaint from all reviews- and we shall now be asking others how they are finding them.
As for the pillows most guests want to take them home with them.
Due to way the review system works we have absolutely no idea as to which room the bed in question is located for immediate replacement.
It was nice to hear that management and the sea views were right up there along with facilities and location, however a guests comfort expectations is one of the greatest challenges to moteliers.
Sincerely, Denis and Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    133
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
254
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Wairoa, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

4 of us spent 3 nights there just before Easter. The place is right across the road from the beach, and right next door to some good food. We walked to town along the beach. The room was very clean and modern with a good size TV, very relaxing and friendly staff. We chartered the Anchorage boat for 2 nights and 3 days. On our way to Cape Kari Kari, the lures were put out and managed to hook a stripped marlin!!!!!!!!!!!!, unfortunately, it got off after a short while. This was the highlight for me fishing. We also managed to get some nice Snapper, Bass and John Dory. We are going back there next summer to do exactly the same thing. Awesome!! Thanks guys.

Room Tip: The top story rooms give better views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairedentongiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We have just enjoyed six nights at the Anchorage Motel in Paihia.
We had a family unit upstairs configered to our specific requirements, with a superb view
The unit was very well maintained and very comfortable. It was fitted with all you could possibly need including 2 televisions, a good sized dining table and more than enough plates and cutlery for us all.
The pool and spa area was well set up and enjoyed by our teenagers.
The Anchorage is well positioned for walking to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJandFamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Spacious apartment and a very large bathroom that came with an excellent shower. I say again, the bed was a REALLY comfortable King size.

The sea views from upstairs are really nice to look out on, and there is a lovely (clean) sandy beach is just across the road. Didn't try the pool or barbecue, but they looked good and others did more than once.

The next door restuarant is a real bonus, as they do some of the best takeaway food we have ever come across - and the staff are VERY pleasant and helpful.

Definately a recommended property.

Room Tip: Contact the owners directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaiyanandHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We had requested an upstairs room to enjoy the views over parked cars to the sea and were not disappointed. The room was large and the bathroom huge, everything nicely decorated and well supplied with eating and cooking utensils. A problem with the bathroom lights was quickly fixed once reported, together with humble apologies from the owners. Aileen was very friendly and helpful, offering useful advice on what to see and do in the area, always with a cheery hello and warm smile. Pool and hot tub looked adequate for the size of the motel, and had we stayed longer we'd have found time to use them. 3 nights there was just not enough to enjoy what this area has to offer. Motel not cheap but facilities and quality justify price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Liz_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchor01, Owner/manager at Anchorage Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
Thankyou, those comments were very much appreciated. We are endeavouring to maintain a quality facility, having completed the first of a three stage refurbishment programme. New bathrooms and kitchens are in place in our studio apartments and in the coming weeks likewise for our one bedroom apartments. With all new artwork in place and the near completion of airconditioning throughout the motel our guests will enjoy the perfect place to
anchor in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Had a lovely weekend in Paihia. Even though it poured with rain we still saw some dolphins! Very pleasant motel, owners are very welcoming and helpful. Nice restaurant next door which serves food all day. Would stay again in the Anchorage for a weekend trip to Paihia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetski18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in early february and would have stayed longer but for Waitangi Day and the fully booked nature of the area.A good priced room, comfortable beds, air-con and good bathroom. A next door cafe/restaurant provided good breakfasts.
The hotel had a pool, not large but adequate. The hotel in situated just away from the main central area but close enough to walk, the beach across the road is good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 2 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paihia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing