We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the bay”
Review of Abri Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abri Apartments
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the bay”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Abri Apartment. The owner offered to pick us up from the Maritime Wharf (where our bus dropped us off) but we decided to take a nice short walk to the apartment ourselves (the weather was amazing). We stayed in the suite, which was the apartment below where the owner stays. The bedroom was lovely, the toilet was spacious and clean, and the living room area was just right.

This is an excellent choice in Paihia because it is away from the main road (not that there is a lot of traffic in Paihia but still) and it is situated slightly higher than the rest of the hotels/apartments. This provides an excellent view of the bay. The view from the bedroom was just beautiful. My husband and I really liked the apartment and we would stay here again if we were ever in Paihia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
204
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, 1 in The Palms and 4 in the Studio Suite. Excellent facilities, spotlessly clean and well-appointed. The view over the Bay is magnificent and it is a very short walk to the wharf for trips and ferries. For groceries the Countdown store on the road to Haruru Falls is best but there is a small Four Square store in town for essentials. Peter and Helen were consummate hosts and their kind offer of a lift down to the bus stop with our luggage was much appreciated.
You get what you pay for - and Abri was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twasthatgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Wonderful to get your feedback on Abri - The Palms and The Suite. :-) Kind Regards, Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the apartment under the main house. The place was quite clean and had an excellent view from both the bedroom and lounge area. It had everything we needed for a weekend away, including kitchenette, bbq and kitchenette.

The king size bed was comfy and the bedding great. We were comfortable on the nights when the weather chilled as the heaters worked well.

We would encourage you to get the lower rooms if possible, as there is a bit of foot traffic noise from the main house above.

Peter was really good as a host, and even popped down to the shops to get extra milk for us when we ran out. He was helpful with directions and general guidance on what do and see. We certainly would visit again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the lower apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ_NZ_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Reenesh,

Thanks alot for your feedback regarding The Suite. We're pleased that you enjoyed your weekend's stay with us. :-) We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by "a bit of foot traffic" from our home. The advantage of The Suite is that it is the highest of our Apartments and therefore has the highest View, plus there are no steps to access The Suite. The Palms and Treetops, although lower down on the property, also have stunning views plus also have the Double Spa Bath and the full Kitchen facilities.

We will look forward to seeing you on your next Visit. :-)
Kind Regards
Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikikamoocow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not much more I can add except to agree with previous reviews, this has to be one the best places to stay in NZ, great views, fantastic rooms, clean spacious and modern, only minor niggle was that the fridge was a bit on the small side but not really a problem, have already started spreading the good word to friends and colleagues. Will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dogsbreath08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We're please to hear that you're recommending us to others. :-) We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Regards
Helen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A great place to relax and unwind, the views from the bedroom window, and the lounge for that matter, are to die for, million dollar views to say the least. Everything appears new and clean, free wi-fi, easy walk into town and an easy walk back up the hill after a feed and a few beers! We would recommend this stay to any-one, the other two stand alone units are great also, they have the views and wi-fi as well as smart tv, great for couples getting away from it all for a few days, reasonably priced, although could possibly have barginned a better deal as Paihia is a little dead at present due to time of year and general downturn, but we were happy to pay the asking price for the peace and quiet the studio appartment afforded.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms had excellent views, however the studio appartment, being under the owners main house an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi Jim & Dee, Thanks for choosing our 1 bedroom Suite for your stay in Paihia. Its always great to receive guest's feedback and that you've enjoyed your stay with us. :-) We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Peter and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is actually my first tripadvisor review. Our stay was so wonderful, I felt like i just HAD to share this experience with others. We stayed in the King Suite and had STUNNING views of the bay from the balcony, living room, AND bedroom. The windows are huge! The rooms are spacious, the bed is dreamy comfortable, and the bathroom is large and modern w/ towel warmer(great water pressure). There is a full size closet and dresser to stow your belongings. We also had a kitchenette with small fridge, sink w/ drainboard, microwave, toaster, & electric skillet. A BBQ grill is on the large balcony for use (and we did). All dishware, utensils, and cleaning items are provided along with French press coffee, tea bag selection, & small carton of milk. In fact, our hosts noticed I was drinking quite a bit of coffee (while they were in the unit for daily cleaning) and we came home to a LARGER press one day (now that's attentive hosts!). Did I mention you can do your laundry on-site?? ...in a front loading washer & dryer.

They are more than happy to answer any questions you have and can help their guests with booking various tours offered in the Bay of Islands (wish I new this beforehand). Just ask! They also provide a binder with helpful information and suggestions on sites to see - PLEASE make sure you do the short walk up to the lookout point! It takes less than 30 minutes to get to the top; we did it on our last day and are so glad we didn't miss it... The walk itself is gorgeous ALL the way up, and then the views are breathtaking.

Super friendly hosts. Spotless. Modern facilities. Perfect location (2 min walk to the main street). Parking provided. Views. Views. Views!!!

I don't know what else I can say to convince everyone. Paihia is our version of Heaven on Earth, and this is the best place to enjoy it.

Room Tip: The King Suite is the floor unit beneath the hosts' home. At first I was disappointed one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreasureHuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks alot for the Awesome feedback on The Suite. Being the highest of our units, it definitely has the best view!! :-) :-) We've just installed the Vendella Cloud Mattress Topper on the Super King Bed, so we're happy to hear that you found it "dreamy comfortable". We hope to see you Again on your next visit to Paihia.
Kind Regards
Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in the 'Treetops' apartment for two nights but wished we had stayed longer. The quality was superb and the view magnificent overlooking the Bay of Islands. It was fully self-contained with cooking facilities, microwave, decent sized fridge, heating, TV, DVD and CD player plus 2 x 2 seater couches and a dining table and chairs. Free WiFi is also included. There was also a balcony out the front with a full sized BBQ (they had thought of everything). It was so nice to arrive at some accommodation which provided 'real' milk to go with the tea, coffee (plunger variety as well) and hot milo provided. The king sized bed was really comfortable, the sheets divine (I even went and bought some of the same from Briscoes to take back to Australia) and there was a lovely spa bath which fitted us both for a nice long hot soak. Being up amongst the trees gave us such a sense of peace and tranquility. There was even a free laundry to use with front loader and dryer (what a bonus) when you are on the road every couple of days. The only drawback of this accommodation would be the 30 odd stairs to climb to get to it (especially if you are carrying heavy suitcases) but they even provided a benchseat on the way up where one could rest if need be. We would not recommend this one if you have mobility issues or breathing difficulties. They do have other apartments which cater for this instead such as 'The Suite' as there is a driveway up to the top or the 'The Palms' has fewer stairs as it is lower. It was an easy walk into town of only 5-10 mins. It was very obvious that the owners take a lot of pride in what they offer. If the owners aren't there when you arrive then the key is kept is a safe outside the front of each apartment, however, you need to ring them to get the code so will need to do this in advance or from a mobile so make sure you have their phone number with you. We ate out at a couple of the local restaurants and took the ferry over to Russell, another lovely historic town. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. I would most definitely recommend the Abri Aparments to anyone travelling to Paihia.

Room Tip: All apartments face the North. Choose carefully if you cannot climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Abri Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an Awesome Review about your stay with us at Abri Apartments. :-) Perhaps you'll beable to come over and stay with us a little longer on your next visit to NZ. :-) C U then. :-)
Kind Regards
Peter & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
1.6 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abri Apartments

Property: Abri Apartments
Address: 10/12 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abri Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abri Apartments has two unique chalets individually set apart for total privacy featuring awesome sea views, open plan living, double spa bath & full kitchen facilities. Nestled amongst the trees in a sub-tropical garden away from busy roads, the apartment / chalets are totally private and look out over the Bay of Islands towards Russell and beyond ..... Also available is a one bedroom Suite with a Super King or Twin Bed option, sea views, kitchenette and shower facilities. The three accommodation units each offer the comfort of a home away from home; each with their own private entrance, a deck with wonderful sea views and a BBQ; plus luxurious details to surprise you during your stay. The apartments are spacious and tastefully furnished with comfortable lounge and dining areas. It is an easy 3 minute stroll to the beach or into central Paihia Township where you will find a variety of shops, cafes, and restaurants; as well as to the Paihia Wharf where all of the Bay of Islands dolphin tours and scenic cruises depart. All this makes Abri Apartments an ideal location for a romantic holiday retreat for couples; plus being the ideal location to base yourself while you explore the many spectacular sights and activities of the Bay of Islands. * Complimentary Car Parking * Competitive Seasonal Rates * Free WiFi * Complimentary Guest Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Abri Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abri Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing