We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Awesome day on the water!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carino Sailing & Dolphins

Carino Sailing & Dolphins
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing on Carino NZ. Help to hoist sails or sit back and relax. We are the only yacht licensed to swim and view wild dolphins in the Bay. Included is an island stopover for Snorkeling tours, Island walks, beach games and BBQ lunch. Depart Paihia 9.30Am-3.45Pm daily.
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Awesome day on the water!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day sailing/cruising with Carino - the crew were friendly and helpful, a commentary around the islands was informative. Unfortunately we didn't get to swim with the dolphins as there was a baby in the pod but there were lots of dolphins to ooh and aah over. We found this trip to be very good value for money as was the BBQ lunch which was very tasty. Would highly recommend and would do again!! Thanks Carino crew.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    13
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sailing with Captain Vanessa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having done most of the other Bay of Island boat trips we decided to try a day sailing on Carino in the hope of finding some dolphins and the chance to swim with them. The day was breezy with a bit of chop and after a brief pause for a glimpse of a small pod of dolphins chasing a boat in it was out into the bay where we hoisted the sails. Cruising up through the islands we moored in a bay on Urupukapuka Island and while the crew got cracking with the Barbie we went ashore for a bit of a poke around and a swim. Back on board for BBQ Lunch (The guys even made sure they had vege sausages for the vegetarian) Fed and watered it was back out into the bay looking for any sign of dolphins and soon enough we found a pod of 6 juvenile bottle nose dolphins. They were a little too rowdy for the Carino crew to allow us into the water but we were treated to some great in close viewing of the dolphins. There was also plenty of room for everyone on board, the crew kept us well informed, so a really good day out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DandJWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a great day in the Bay of Islands with the Carino crew! Very early we saw a group of dolphins. Unfortunately we didn't have the chance to swim with them because they had a baby dolphin with them. It was a pity but the crew explained to us that a baby dolphin has to eat every 10 minutes and it would be to much stress for the mother when we swim with them. We understood that it would harm the dolphins to go into the warer. And seeing a baby dolphin was a good compensation. It was so cute!
After we watched the dolphins for a while we continued our trip through the bay. Later on we went to a small island where we were able to swim, snorkel or do a short walk. After that we had a BBQ on the boat (thanks for the vegetarian alternative :-) ). After lunch we sailed for a while and went back to Paihia harbour.
It was an amazing experience to see dolphins in the wild and learn something about these beautiful animals. I think that I will never be able to visit a dolphinarium or a show with dolphins. This is such a torture to the animals!
Many thanks to the Carino crew for the tour and the professional operation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marigold1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
226 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Captain Vanessa & Crew - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this tour a few weeks prior to arrival in NZ. They suggested we go a day later as it may be windy and/or rainy the day we booked for. Were they ever right and the day we moved to was picture perfect. Calm seas and warm weather prevailed. These folks know their stuff.
We only saw about 5 or 6 bottle nose dolphins but we got to see them up pretty close. We then went to a semi secluded island at the outer area of Bay of Islands for a nice swim. We also had time to explore the island a bit.
They then picked up those that didn't want to swim back and served up a piping hot bar-b-que lunch. NZ sausages and a really nice salad that had this hint of mint in it. Delicious - apparently from the Captain Vanessa's fathers garden. They did charge $6 for the lunch but given the lower cost of the tour at $114 - no big deal.
Thanks a bunch guys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely day in the Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a really nice day, even if the weather was not so good.
We saw a big pod of Dolphins in the morning, and saw another one during the afternoon on our way back to Russell. Unfortunately we couldn't swim with them because they didn't show a real interest in the boat and were quite tricky, but it was ok for us, seeing them was already a lot.
The crew was really friendly and careful about the conditions (that's why they didn't allow us to swim with the dolphins).
We saw as well blue pinguins and gannets, could do some snorkelling on a little bay and had a nice bbq on the boat.
To resume this day was lovely, you can feel the crew has a real passion for what they do, and they try the most possible to share their passion with you. We really appreciated not to be stuck with 50 people on a touristic boat, and we'll recommend Carino for our friends who want to sail in Bay of Islands.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delphine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carino Sailing & Dolphins also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Carino Sailing & Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing