We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarlton's Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Natasha and Dan what wonderful host you were and made our few days the most enjoyable holiday we could of asked for.
Breakfast was brillant and we couldnt of asked for better services.
keep up the wonderful work you are doing a grand job

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelemckeown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks so much Adele! Its good to hear our hard work pays off. Glad you had a lovely stay.

Kind Regards,

Natasha & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
188
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This B&B was the best we stayed at in New Zealand. Pure comfort, fantastic view across the islands, breakfast on the terrace. Every detail perfect. Mike is a brilliant host and even allowed us to leave our luggage whilst cruising after our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Dan & Natasha are amazing hosts, having only taken over the property in recent times they are putting their all into it and it definitely will pay off, our stay was beyond perfect!
The breakfasts are brilliant and I couldn't imagine to have a better view while you eat! TIP: Definitely try the French Toast with blueberry, fried banana, whipped cream!
The private spa is definitely a highlight, looking over Paihia and the ocean, it looks so surreal like a painting really, one of the highlights of our trip in New Zealand.
The rooms are great, the bathroom is so modern and the shower is one of the best I have ever experienced!

It is a little hard to find in the dark, so get there before sunset (and see the sun go down with the beautiful view!) but the remoteness from the town just adds to the experience. We will definitely be back next time we visit the Bay of Islands and will continue to book early, once people find out about Tarlton's Lodge it is bound to be difficult to get a reservation! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 638Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you Rachel for your review. It means a lot to us both especially since we're new to this. Good news is that Dan and I have been looking into getting some lighting around our sign so that guests who arrive late at night will be able to find the turn of easier.
Once again, thank you ever so much for such a lovely review. You've made my weekend!

Kind Regards,

Natasha & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Dan & Natasha were incredible hosts, warm & inviting & knowledgeable. What an amazing spot, views to die for weather was perfect & so was our room. private entry, very clean, everything in the room was to a very high standard huge bed, dreamy soft sheets, massive modern shower/ bathroom, even loved the random qwerky art work on the wall. The main attraction thow was the private spa on the patio 38degrees/jets & when it gets dark the garden & spas have colourful mood lighting just to add to the spectacular semi full moon that night i didn't want to leave! We had 2bottles of wine in our spa friendly plastic glasses & giggled untill 10pm when you have to turn spa jets off because of the noise they make, but that was fine we were turing into drunk prunes anyway....in the morning its hard not to get up early with the view screaming at you to get up & look @ it. Dan had table set & coffee ready to go!! Yay 15min later our french toast & tarlton (big brecky) where on the table...yumm best start to the day & fabulous end to our 1st B&B experience. I encourage everyone to stay here at least once & the price doesn't break the bank either!! Bonus!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Activerelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakura, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room at Tarltons for part of our honeymoon trip and am so glad I did - Everything about this room was perfect from the private spa, nice furnishings, yummy breakfast, beautiful view - it could not be any better. Thanks Mike for your great hospitality and tips about what to see and where to eat around Paihia!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine_B_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely, spacious room with own veranda and spa pool. Beautiful views over the Bay. Breakfast served on the veranda - delicious. Mike was very helpful with advice on what to do and see in the area. Easy drive down to Restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killywhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
202 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Upon arriving in New Zealand we wanted to see the Bay of Islands area and wanted the "best bang for our buck". We found it with Mike and Tarlton's Lodge. When we had looked up the accommodations 6 months previously, Mike was very pleasant on the phone and once we booked (didn't have to pay until arrival), he was very accommodating via email with answers to my many questions about the area. Mike made arrangements to pick us up from the bus and would have given us a ride back after our stay but we had already booked a taxi (only $6), The room was large, clean and very comfortable with a wonderful shower. Mike provides a large, hot breakfast every day on your patio (fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal, toast, and a choice of eggs or waffles). The spa/hot tub was wonderful and the patio had a wonderful view. My only complaint would be the tough hike back up the hill to the accommodations at the end of the day, but taxis are very reasonable. I didn't want to leave and I would certainly love to come again. Thank you so much, Mike!

Room Tip: Ask for the middle of the three rooms. You get to interact with the owner and other guest more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Property: Tarlton's Lodge
Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarlton's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing