We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, feel at home feeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baystay B&B
Ranked #9 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, feel at home feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a great place and what a friendly people. As well Rob as Nick. They gave us a feeling like being home. On a rainy afternoon Rob offered to watch ons of his movies. We brought our own wine and had a graet afternoon. Happily ever after, all the other days the weather was good enough to visit the beautiful surrounding.

Room Tip: We discovered the hot pool outside the day we left. Nog Fitness centre availlable. Why should they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JansZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
158
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Baystay B&B for two nights. The room was very comfortable with a great view of the surrounding hills. The breakfast was excellent and varied. Nick, our host, was friendly and helpful. We both highly recommend the Baystay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Rob and Chris are delightful hosts and the property is just wonderful. The amenities are amazing and the breakfasts equal to that. The room we stayed in was on the north side of the deck and was comfortable and had a great view down over the river. Rob and Chris were always helpful with suggestions and anything else on hand. They gave us a detailed set of maps for a trip north, a wonderful lemonZ after dinner liqueur and always had a smile. This was one of the most wonderful stays anywhere I have had in my many years and many travels, worldwide. I could not rate Baystay higher.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room, but the north side is the best. They only have 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently stayed in the Ti-Tree room at Baystay B & B. It's a lovely house with nice views and great decor. Both Rob and Nick were lovely and very helpful. The breakfasts were great... we especially loved Rob's baked egg dish (delicious).

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: You could hear everything from the corner room in the Ti-tree room... so perhaps the River view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in the Riverview room at Baystay during the first leg of our journey around NZ. The room was lovely - set up as a twin for us, there was enough room for two single gals with overpacked suitcases and very comfortable. The view was amazing, the room clean and our host informative and friendly. Breakfast was great too (I wish I could have eaten more!). If we had more time, I think we both would have been happy here for a few nights more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K4t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a really awesome stay at Baystay, Nick and Rob really made us feel at home. The room was great and we more than enjoyed the run of the lounge, just a pity we couldn't stay longer. One of the highlites on our New Zealand holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Baystay for three nights in Jan 2013. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a lovely stylish ensuite shower room.The B & B location was perfect , with the most amazing views from the terrace ! Our hosts Rob and Nick were great with suggestions of places to eat and visit , even booking a fantastic Day Cruise to the Hole in the Rock for us! The breakfast was delicious and the best start to the day.We had a Fantastic stay and hope to return again soon,thankyou Rob for looking after us so well !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandy_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.3 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.8 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Property: Baystay B&B
Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing