We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delighted to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baystay B&B
Ranked #9 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delighted to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We first stayed here a few years ago, and had a delightful time, so this time we made sure to organise a few days at Baystay to relax, enjoy the delightful ambience, and rest after a long, demanding driving tour of the rest of New Zealand. The hot tub on the balcony is the best place possible to unwind and rest after a long day's drive up the North Island! We just couldn't be more comfortable, welcomed, and pleased to be back here.

The decor is modern, restrained, and very comfortable - the big living-room has everything you could want for entertainment, and there's free wifi as well. There's airconditioning in all rooms, although in hot weather, once the sun has moved around the house, the best place to be is sitting out on the balcony at the back. There's always a delicious cool breeze!

If you're childfree and looking for a quietly luxurious place to stay a scant five minutes' drive from Paihia, this would be ideal.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they're all very comfortable and beautifully fitted-out, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
150
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
377 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Baystay is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed here for 6 nights and a great time. It is close to Paihia. Nick and Rob are very hospitable and nice guys to talk to. Their help with excursions and places to eat are very good. The bereakfasts are lovely as well.
The views from the B&B are gorgeous.

Room Tip: We had the River view room, which is probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rob and Nick run a superb B&B and are very helpful hosts without intruding. Rooms and breakfast are first class. Everything is clean andfreshly prepared. Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation in recomending or staying again.
Geoff & Marie

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank southgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a really lovely last minute weekend break here. The room was small but perfectly formed. Gorgeous big bathroom. Clean and very comfortable. Loved the communal area and the decking out the front with gorgeous views, perfect to relax with a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfasts were fab and our hosts couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Slightly out of the way from Paihia if you want a few drinks in the evening with dinner but perfect for sightseeing during the day. Slightly more expensive than we had wanted to pay but you get what you pay for so definitely worth the extra few bucks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent hosts Nick & Rob. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us good advice of where to eat, what to see etc. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb, particularly the home made kiwi jam which was brill! The B & B is situated on a hill with great views of the surrounding countrytside and the river below. We would highly recommend Bayside B & B to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Bayside all appear to be equally as good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we arrived at the baystay, the smell of freshly baked chrstmasbread "stollen" was welcoming us. Our room was perfect and had direct access to the deck and was nicely decorated. After having refreshed ourselves Nick was offering coffee, tea, water .... and discussed with us the plans for the next day. We booked via him our trip with the NZ sail. They do have with several companies restaurants special deals, so don't forget to ask them. After coming back from dinner we sat on the deck listining to the birds and we heard even from the otherside of the valley a kiwi! At breakfeast they serve fresh baked fench croissants - yes french, selfmade yoguhrt and selfmade marmelade etc. etc. And eggs how would you like them?

Room Tip: Try to get the room with direct access to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights - the rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Room needed more table-top space - small surfboard table considered inadequate. The gourmet breakfast was something else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#3 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Property: Baystay B&B
Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing