We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful place and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baystay B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
375 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Baystay is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed here for 6 nights and a great time. It is close to Paihia. Nick and Rob are very hospitable and nice guys to talk to. Their help with excursions and places to eat are very good. The bereakfasts are lovely as well.
The views from the B&B are gorgeous.

Room Tip: We had the River view room, which is probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
150
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rob and Nick run a superb B&B and are very helpful hosts without intruding. Rooms and breakfast are first class. Everything is clean andfreshly prepared. Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation in recomending or staying again.
Geoff & Marie

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank southgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a really lovely last minute weekend break here. The room was small but perfectly formed. Gorgeous big bathroom. Clean and very comfortable. Loved the communal area and the decking out the front with gorgeous views, perfect to relax with a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfasts were fab and our hosts couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Slightly out of the way from Paihia if you want a few drinks in the evening with dinner but perfect for sightseeing during the day. Slightly more expensive than we had wanted to pay but you get what you pay for so definitely worth the extra few bucks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent hosts Nick & Rob. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us good advice of where to eat, what to see etc. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb, particularly the home made kiwi jam which was brill! The B & B is situated on a hill with great views of the surrounding countrytside and the river below. We would highly recommend Bayside B & B to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Bayside all appear to be equally as good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we arrived at the baystay, the smell of freshly baked chrstmasbread "stollen" was welcoming us. Our room was perfect and had direct access to the deck and was nicely decorated. After having refreshed ourselves Nick was offering coffee, tea, water .... and discussed with us the plans for the next day. We booked via him our trip with the NZ sail. They do have with several companies restaurants special deals, so don't forget to ask them. After coming back from dinner we sat on the deck listining to the birds and we heard even from the otherside of the valley a kiwi! At breakfeast they serve fresh baked fench croissants - yes french, selfmade yoguhrt and selfmade marmelade etc. etc. And eggs how would you like them?

Room Tip: Try to get the room with direct access to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights - the rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Room needed more table-top space - small surfboard table considered inadequate. The gourmet breakfast was something else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nick and Rob were the perfect hosts for our exploration of the Bay of Islands in October (2012). They were veritable tour guides, suggesting sites to see, restaurants to dine in, and hikes to try. They even brought out the sun for us. The B&B is clean, comfortable, relaxing, up-to-date. And we had a view of the surrounding countryside every morning from the deck right outside our room. We highly recommend Bayside B&B to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onespoiledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 22 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Property: Baystay B&B
Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing