We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B & B”
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baystay B&B
Ranked #8 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent hosts Nick & Rob. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us good advice of where to eat, what to see etc. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb, particularly the home made kiwi jam which was brill! The B & B is situated on a hill with great views of the surrounding countrytside and the river below. We would highly recommend Bayside B & B to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Bayside all appear to be equally as good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we arrived at the baystay, the smell of freshly baked chrstmasbread "stollen" was welcoming us. Our room was perfect and had direct access to the deck and was nicely decorated. After having refreshed ourselves Nick was offering coffee, tea, water .... and discussed with us the plans for the next day. We booked via him our trip with the NZ sail. They do have with several companies restaurants special deals, so don't forget to ask them. After coming back from dinner we sat on the deck listining to the birds and we heard even from the otherside of the valley a kiwi! At breakfeast they serve fresh baked fench croissants - yes french, selfmade yoguhrt and selfmade marmelade etc. etc. And eggs how would you like them?

Room Tip: Try to get the room with direct access to the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights - the rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Room needed more table-top space - small surfboard table considered inadequate. The gourmet breakfast was something else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nick and Rob were the perfect hosts for our exploration of the Bay of Islands in October (2012). They were veritable tour guides, suggesting sites to see, restaurants to dine in, and hikes to try. They even brought out the sun for us. The B&B is clean, comfortable, relaxing, up-to-date. And we had a view of the surrounding countryside every morning from the deck right outside our room. We highly recommend Bayside B&B to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onespoiledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful. !! My husband and I spent two nights at the Baystay and it felt like home from the moment we arrived. Spacious and immaculate with all the amenities a great B and B should have. Yummy breakfast also with the best home made kiwi jam. This was the best place we stayed while in NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our hosts gave us good advice. They were most kind and helpful to us. Highly recommended in our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hidden down a tiny road, accessed between two houses, emerges Baystay B & B. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable but the gem was the view from the open plan living area and the large deck. The land falls away to the river with the cliff face on the far side. Nick and Rob were very welcoming and made us feel at home, and the breakfast was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back to Baystay if we travel to the Bay of Islands again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.8 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing