We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing”
Review of Baystay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baystay B&B
Ranked #9 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights - the rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Room needed more table-top space - small surfboard table considered inadequate. The gourmet breakfast was something else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
159
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nick and Rob were the perfect hosts for our exploration of the Bay of Islands in October (2012). They were veritable tour guides, suggesting sites to see, restaurants to dine in, and hikes to try. They even brought out the sun for us. The B&B is clean, comfortable, relaxing, up-to-date. And we had a view of the surrounding countryside every morning from the deck right outside our room. We highly recommend Bayside B&B to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onespoiledtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful. !! My husband and I spent two nights at the Baystay and it felt like home from the moment we arrived. Spacious and immaculate with all the amenities a great B and B should have. Yummy breakfast also with the best home made kiwi jam. This was the best place we stayed while in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our hosts gave us good advice. They were most kind and helpful to us. Highly recommended in our experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hidden down a tiny road, accessed between two houses, emerges Baystay B & B. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable but the gem was the view from the open plan living area and the large deck. The land falls away to the river with the cliff face on the far side. Nick and Rob were very welcoming and made us feel at home, and the breakfast was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back to Baystay if we travel to the Bay of Islands again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very good base for the Bay of Islands. The hosts were very welcoming and informative. Very good suggestions for trips and restaurants. High quality coffee available all day was great and lovely continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ateamgoestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a great time in baystay. They provided great service also excellent breakfast especially the egg muffin.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1281d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.2 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.2 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
947 reviews
3.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
1.8 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay B&B

Property: Baystay B&B
Address: 93A Yorke Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WIFI, All rooms are air-conditioned. Baystay B&B is situated overlooking the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia where you will find a variety of restaurants and shops, or you can relax at the beach. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast, the spa pool or just the views from the deck. We can give tips on how to explore Northland or give help on booking your day trips. Relax, No Worries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baystay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay B&B Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing