We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great stay at the pickled parrot. Lovely lady, unlimited free wifi, comfortable room and a good shower. Car parking and in a quiet spot, one of the best places we have stayed. Also, because it was winter our room was only $60 for a double which is probably the best value we have experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busygizzy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

I didn't like the atmosphere in the hostel. The rooms are tiny and I didn't like the bathrooms. The staff was never around, you have to wait quite long. Also, it is very disorganized. The only good things about the hostel: free wifi and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singGS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Located a short walk away from the town centre, it features an extremely relaxing atmosphere while being close to all essentials . Comfortable beds , clean and well equipped kitchen , lovely common area and a beautiful garden are some of the facilities I enjoyed while staying here. The free breakfast is an added benefit. Rose , the owner is very helpful and she is a bundle of joy along with her two gorgeous dogs who hang about the hostel . Free wifi is provided , a little slow and irregular but it works most of the time . Bathrooms are spacious , immaculate and the showers are new which is always a plus!
It is also a great place to meet fellow travelers and make loads of friends !
If you're In paihia, then this is where you should be staying . Loved my stay here and I'm sure to return !!

Room Tip: Go for the second dorm on the right as you walk in , it has only four beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Well hidden on the edge of Paihia lies the Pickled Parrot, a nice little hostel on the Bay of Islands. The whole interior is superb, the community room is big and connected to the kitchen. We didn't use the latter except for making some sandwiches but it all looked nice and tidy as well as fully equipped. Free WiFi and free breakfasts are additional positive things, furthermore, the bathrooms/showers are big and very clean!

Me and my friend only stayed one night in one of the double bedrooms, which was small but nice. This is only a small review since I can't remember all the details from back then, but one thing is for sure: Awesome place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked the parrot under the assumption that there would be breakfast provided and a clean room included. We arrived late, the room and the bathrooms were full of spiders and the high ceilings had not been dusted in who knows how long. The double bed was extremely uncomfortable and sagged to the middle and the curtains did not block any light and there were lights directly outside so the room was bright the entire night. We woke up to find a note in the kitchen stating that breakfast was cancelled because people were loud so she didnt give anyone breakfast and we had payed for it. She also did not arrive in the office until 930 even though the office hours began at 830 so we had to wait to check out.

False advertising for the breakfast, entitled staff, uncomfortable room. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a good base in Paihia, good facilities, clean and found that a twin room was excellent value for money. It's not a big hostel so be prepared to share communal space/wait for shower in the morning. We were a bit frustrated that breakfast isn't put out if the kitchen is left in a mess (we had just arrived late the night before and so had to go out for breakfast). A bit frustrating when it has nothing to do with you but i can kind of see why they do it. It's a 5/10 min walk from the centre of Paihia.

Room Tip: get a twin/double as it's not much more expensive than a dorm bed
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been travelling for ten months and I was overwhelmed by the warmth and kindness showed to us by Rose and her family, who happened to be staying over the new year break. The Pickled Parrot is a lovely, friendly place to stay and we have stayed in a lot of hostels! A lovely quiet spot near the beach which is very well equipped with brand new bathrooms, which is always a bonus! Thank you Rose for a fantastic stay. We cannot recommend the Pickled Parrot highly enough.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank GalSal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#10 of 31 in Paihia
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Centabay Lodge
Centabay Lodge
#23 of 31 in Paihia
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#17 of 31 in Paihia
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.2 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#27 of 31 in Paihia
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $31 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing