We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character galore!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Character galore!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away, it was like a home away from home for a good price, purely chilled out, clean, comfy, quiet, small. The owner was lovely. The kitchen and living area are like a small house so its great for socialising with the other guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    27
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
39
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Pickled Parrot was excellent accommodations for the price--especially all the added bonuses! The hostess Rose was incredibly gracious and a great source for local recommendations. Our room was separate and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. My favorite part was the extensive floral and plant landscaping that gave it and "away from it all" feel (I awoke to the sound of birds!). The Pickled Parrot included (free!): Wi-fi, tennis gear, bicycles, washer/dryer, tea, coffee, breakfast...Overall incredible value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The main draw of this place is definitely its free WIFI considering that internet is pretty expensive in NZ. Breakfast is provided but when we woke up half an hour before breakfast is supposed to end, the bread had already run out. You maybe able to ask for more but we did not as we had our own food. Room and kitchen are both a little small, but it did not bother us that much. Bathrooms and room are all reasonably clean. Location-wise, it is walking distance to restaurants, bars and mini-mart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Paihia is a nice destiny to travel around Northland, from here you can go to many places, even Cape Reinga.
If you come, stay at this hostel.
Tha staff is very friendly, is comfortable, nice, and the most important very tidy and clean, I think is one of the cleanest backpacker where I´ve stayed.
But is a quiet hostel, so if you´re looking for a party one, maybe this is not the right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at this hostel twice throughout my travels and I totally loved it!
The location is beautiful, close to town, and right by the main beach. The facilities are cosy, comfortable, and very clean. It has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the management does a wonderful job of maintaining it.
Breakfast and Wifi are also included - which is not the case throughout NZ, so enjoy it!
I loved this place...and I highly recommend it as a great base to stay and see the surrounding area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

It's a short walk to the town center, the lady who owns the place is very nice, keeps the place very clean. It's a nice atmosphere to meet other travelers. I remember the beds being very comfortable for a hostel too. I stayed in my tent a couple nights for a little less money, then it rained for 5 days :P

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent three nights at Pickled Parrot on our two week honeymoon in NZ. We had the penguin suite (above the office) and since it was low season, had the living room, kitchen, and upstairs deck to ourselves. The free Internet was convenient, though not always reliable. Nice to have cereal and toast provided in the morning, though we made good use of the well equipped kitchen for dinners. Only complaint is that other backpackers were loud at night and woke us up. Rose was lovely and made us feel quite welcome. We stayed an extra night because we were so comfortable. Would recommend this as a good base camp for the Bay of Islands.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marthapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
0.2 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#15 of 30 in Paihia
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#9 of 30 in Paihia
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#26 of 30 in Paihia
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickled Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Parrot Backpackers

Property: The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Address: 9 Greys Lane, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the Pickled Parrot. Enjoy free breakfast in this small personal hostel set in a sub tropical garden paradise. Friendly welcoming hosts, very clean accommodation, excellent kitchen facilities, all linen provided. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Pickled Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Hotel Paihia
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing