We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!!”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #12 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2014

If The Retreat is rated only 15th of the hotels in Paihia, either the first 14 are out of this world, or the reviewers are being over-generous, since The Retreat is simply superb. Set in maturely cultivated grounds, the apartments look out over the Bay of Islands with stunning views. The owners were very welcoming and able to provide loads of good advice, beds are comfortable, the kitchen area well supplied, fresh towels were provided each day, the balcony is a lovely place to sit, and there is free wi-fi. It is a couple of ks. outside the town of Paihia, which would be a problem without a car, but otherwise is a distinct advantage to be in such a quiet and beautiful location. The only niggle? The shower had low pressure, and the hot water tank was stretched for 4 people, but otherwise this reasonably priced hotel should be considered by anyone coming to the area.

Room Tip: All have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Kia ora from Paihia
Thanks for taking the time to review The Retreat
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us First comment we have had about not enough hot water it is a 180 litre Cylinder and the pressure seems to depend on the Councils pumps being on
Look forward to seeing you in the future
Regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Retreat is located 2km from Paihia which is perfect if you want peace and quiet. The location is beautiful and all units have stunning views of the sea. Our one bedroom unit with balcony had a very well equipped kitchen as well as other extras such as hair dryer, toiletries, tea, coffee etc. The lovely fluffy towels and teatowels are replaced daily. Jan and Kevin are very helpful, offering information on the local area, and a little history if you want it... Thank you from Olive

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Kia ora from Paihia
Thanks for taking the time to review The Retreat and we are happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us The Hot water cylinder is 180 litres and this is the 1st comment that there was not enough Hot water ,the pressure seems to be dependant on the Council's Pumps being on .
Hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Clean and tidy room. We stayed on the one bedroom unit. Friendly hosts that made our stay enjoyable. It's far from the central tourist hub, though it's only 5min drive. Definitely coming back again for a longer stay!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Kia ora from Paihia
Thanks for your review and we look forward to your visiting The Bay and The Retreat again
Regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Retreat offered a wonderfully relaxing start to our New Zealand holiday, with spectacular views over the Bay of Islands. Just outside Paihia, it's very convenient for boat trips around the Bay, visiting the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the ferry across to Russell.

Jan and Kevin are very friendly hosts, who are full of local knowledge, which enabled us to discover places that wouldn't otherwise have been obvious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidstella48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Kia ora David & Stella
Happy 2014
Thanks for your review on The Retreat and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do try to make everything easy for our guests to relax and have as much info as possible to help have a great time in the Bay of Islands
See you again
Regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the best motels my husband & I have stayed at. Jan and Kevin are the nicest people you could wish to or want to meet. Friendly, clean. If we are ever in Paihia again whether it is to stay or visit we will be sure to look Jan & Kevin up. The views are astounding. Thank you from Rick & I. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Kia Sharon & Rick
Thanks for your fantastic review ,we are glad you enjoyed our Retreat and everything that goes with it ..We do enjoy helping to make our guests feel at home
regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is our new fav family spot. The weather didn't play ball all weekend - thunderstorms and lightening one day, sunshine the next - but it really didn't matter at The Retreat. The rooms have everything you need for a short or longer stay...we were relaxed and comfortable, and the view kept us enchanted. It's just a walk down the hill to the bay, or hop over the other side for pipi picking. Of course it's always the people that make the difference - thank you Jan and Kevin for making our family weekend extra special. By the by, we went to Shippey's in Paihia for fish and chips late on Sunday night - thank goodness they were open and the food was spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Writing this sitting at my desk in work, and wishing I was back at The Retreat.

We chose this place because it promised a good view over the bay, and it totally delivered. Beautiful views over the bay that we could see from our bed. Best thing to wake up to in the morning.

The motel style apartment itself was spotlessly clean, and had everything you could need - including a very well stocked kitchen and plenty of hot water.

Jan was incredibly friendly and helpful, and we really felt welcome. There was a TV and good DVD selection for rainy evenings too.

All in all, I would very much recommend! Good value in the winter season too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinSmith2013, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Kia ora from Paihia
Thanks for your review ,we are so glad that you enjoyed The Retreat
Come back again
Regards
Jan & kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
959 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $68 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet,secluded natural bush setting set on a 10 acre Penninsula with panoramic uninterrupted seaviews,Northfacing,but only 3 minutes drive to Paihia Central.Bush walks,great Fishing,native bird life and access to the Coastal Walkway A perfect home away from Home ,Friendly Hospitality ,Relaxed Genuine Kiwi Owners ,on site. Prepare to be spoilt.A great place to base your Complete Northland Holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing