We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well named” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Retreat
Ranked #10 of 22 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deep South
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well named”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here over New Years eve 2012/13. We spent a lot of time choosing where to stay in Paihia and we weren't disappointed in the Retreat. As other reviewers have said its outside Paihia, which is on the other side of a steep hill. But as we weren't looking for accommodation right in town this suited us well. The views were stunning and the setting is beautiful. The owners were very helpful and the studio unit we stayed in was clean and comfortable. One word of warning, depending on the time of year you stay, you need mosquito repellant (we'd forgotten ours), we were all bitten a lot, I had 40 bites on one leg alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice and clean, been here 3 times for buisness, want to come back with da wife one day, will be back.
Hosts are nice and friendly. The views are to die for. I cant really complain about anything, nice warm heater in room, ice in fridge, can walk down to the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the Retreat in March for 5 days and our hosts, Kevin and Jan, made our stay very comfortable. The accommodation is exceptionally clean and comfortable and everything you need is there. I think the views from the balcony are the best in the area. It is set well off the main road amongst the trees and is very quiet and relaxed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keefras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at the top Lockwood that overlooks the harbour, with views towards Opua and Russell. Accommodation was dated, but clean, with a homely bach feel. My wife and daughter loved it, as did I. Superb views from the deck, enhanced by the surrounding bush and with great hosts in Jan and Kevin (is the TV sorted), we'll defintely be comming back. I will be recommending this place to all and sundry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Have stayed here several times over the years. First thing is that if you need easy access to food/bars/restaurants etc. it is not for you; you need to drive about 5 minutes from here to downtown Paihia. But if you are into collecting pupu and pipi (shellfish) from the beach below, then you are in the right place. It is a great spot for a quiet weekend away as a couple, or for a family base to explore the BOI if you are keen on cooking for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Recently stayed at The Retreat whilst on a touring holiday in North Island. This is a perfect place for relaxing with amazing views especially as our unit, at the top of the site, was spacious & quiet with a big deck for sitting and watching the boats on the bay. There was also a deck on the other side of the unit which made it perfect for chasing the sun, or avoiding it if it became too hot on the main deck. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were that The Retreat is too far out of Paihia to walk so if you want to eat out in the evening you do need to go by car and New Zealand drivers do tend to drive very close to the car in front so plenty of warning needs to be given when turning into the narrow drive up to the Retreat. I should thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants to chill out whilst they are on holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a unit at the top of the site for better views and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 186284Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was the perfect place to start our holiday! After a busy lead up to our holiday, then the long flight we were more than ready to relax at The Retreat. We stayed in the cabin at the top of the hill -it is in a beautiful setting with amazing views from the long patio. With windows on both sides you can always catch the sun - morning or evening. The cabin was very well equipped and perfectly clean. It was wonderful to be able to prepare breakfast and dinner and to sit outside sipping wine watching the boats and yachts sail past. We didn't even try to connect to the internet - the information said to leave behind the phone and listen to the tuis and that is exactly what we did. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
1.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 22 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
10.0 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 31 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 22 Paihia Road | Paihia, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet,secluded natural bush setting set on a 10 acre Penninsula with panoramic uninterrupted seaviews,Northfacing,but only 3 minutes drive to Paihia Central.Bush walks,great Fishing,native bird life and access to the Coastal Walkway A perfect home away from Home ,Friendly Hospitality ,Relaxed Genuine Kiwi Owners ,on site. Prepare to be spoilt.A great place to base your Complete Northland Holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing