We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you NOT stay here ???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 7, 2014

As an introduction to New Zealand B&B hospitality, Paul & Barbara set the standards very high.
A welcome cup of tea & cake, excellent breakfasts, dinner if you want it, & all the advice you need, makes this venue a real cracker.
The accomodation is serious Five Star, & the views from our room were to die for.
Well done Paul & Barbara, we will certainly be back .

Room Tip: Our room with a view of the garden was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 254 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed in some lovely B&B's during our wonderful holiday in New Zealand, Morepork was undoubtedly the best. This is more like a private valet service than a B&B, their attention to detail was remarkable! Everything about Paul and Barbara's establishment was wonderful. From the welcome, the quality of the accomodation, the location, the breakfasts, the advice on what to do. All simply first class. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Austin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just returned from staying four nights at the Morepork Riverside Lodge and the stay exceeded my expectations! Paul and Barbara have a lovely home overlooking rain forest and a river that has three lovely bedrooms to choose from. We enjoyed the smallest room and found it comfortable and clean. What made the stay most enjoyable were the hosts, not only can they both cook, they are super helpful in planning activities during your stay and are absolutely warm and fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shheldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A welcome of tea and cake is a great start to any stay and we were not disappointed. Our room was huge with a balcony overlooking the garden, river and countryside and lacked nothing. The ensuite was almost as big and the bath was enormous - great for that soak after a day out. Barbara and Paul were fantastic hosts and offered advice on things to do and places to eat. As our first experience of a NZ B&B, they set the bar very high for the rest of our holiday. We stayed only 3 nights but left as friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I ran a successful B and B for seven years, and thought I knew what made guests happy. Paull and Barbara at morepork have scaled new heights. From the welcoming cup of tea, to the ice bags for picnics in the room, umbrellas should it rain, home made biscuits just in case you come over pe kish - they have thought of everything. The setting is fabulous , lovely gardens full of flowers and yes the moreporks (owls to us Brits) in the garden. The rooms are light and spacious, the bathroom we had huge and really well equipped. Our breakfasts were delicious and our dinner excellent. Both Paul and Barbara do everything to make your stay exceptional. This place sets a gold standard .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loupwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Paul and Barbara welcomed us into their home. Nothing was too much trouble and our stay had all the little touches to make it perfect. We were on a tight schedule and they helped us make the most of our time. We would definitely plan another trip around staying there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Paul and Barbara are exceptional people. Nothing was too much trouble. They truly care that the time you spend in their home is as comfortable as possible. They go the extra mile. Wonderful breakfasts, dinners and welcome pack. Extras such as cool bag, beach towels and iced water bottles. If I am ever in NZ again I would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
5.0 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
348 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marlin House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paihia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
640 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 21 in Paihia
535 reviews
5.3 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morepork Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Address: 846 Puketona Rd. | Bay of Islands, Northland, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing