We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Hospitality, Superb Accommodation and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morepork Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hospitality, Superb Accommodation and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Morepark Riverside Lodge sets the benchmark for us from now on.

It is a wonderful place to stay.

Our hosts, Paul and Barbara were convivial, caring, humourous and full of bonhomie. There is nothing they haven't thought of by way of comfort, quality of furnishings, accessories and all of the elements that go to making the stay there "five-star".

They are fine cooks and it was fantastic to be able to have an evening meal prepared which was delicious and great value for money. The price charged included wine also. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice available.

Overall, it's tremendous value for money and a place not to be missed if you touring the Bay of Islands - highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
143
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great experience right from my first email. I found the Riverview room offered at a special price for the dates we were going to Paihia on a booking site...but was hesitating to book (with cancellation fee) until my visa was granted. I thought it was a long shot, but sent an email out to Paul to see if they could hold the room. The response was immediate, and they held it for us - even without an advance, and at the special rate advertised on the third party site.

Very professional - but at the same time Very personal. Before our trip, they sent us a recommended list of activities along with directions based on the number of days of our stay in order for us to plan. They offered to do the booking too - which we requested for the bay of islands cruise. When we arrived, Paul and Barb helped us with the luggage, and offered us freshly baked muffins and English breakfast tea, as we talked about NZ, the bay of islands, restaurants they could help us make reservations for that night. etc. etc.

The room was comfortable, clean and quiet with all modern amenities of a hotel: toileteries, hair dryer, electric kettle, free snacks/fruits, beach towels, umbrellas (it rains often), small refrigerator and Jacuzzi. And the view (no, its not the bay) from the deck – a vast expanse of rolling green fields with sheep and cattle in the horizon. It’s a 10 min drive from the beach of Paihia. But given that may trip activities will revolve around water, if you can drive, this is a calming haven to return to in the evening.

BREAKFAST – needs a line of its own. Both are excellent cooks. Hot, fresh ingredients from their farm, and made to your request. (Dinner too for an extra charge, if you request it in advance).

I could go on about their hospitality and helpfulness. But in a nutshell – a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Riverview room has the largest bathroom - with jacuzzi. It also has a deck with a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujaMural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived to find a board outside the door with our names on saying welcome- a very nice touch - and from the minute we met Paul and Barbara they made us feel really at home. Good, comfortable, accomodation with a great view from our room, good breakfasts too. Recommendations for a boat trip and other activites were very helpful. Couldn't have hoped for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I don't know where to start with what to say about Morepork Lodge. This was our second time staying at Morepork and after only 2 nights, we left feeling as though we'd stayed a week!

Paul and Barb are the perfect hosts and are a joy to spend time with. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and at home, like we were part if the family.
They laid out some fantastic meals for us, the roast lamb was amazing and the traditional Hangi is a must do!

Our room was very well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet at night.

Morepork Lodge is nestled in amongst some stunning native bush with a beautiful view of the Waitangi River.

I'd happily go back to Morepork Lodge anytime of year and would recommend it as the best to anyone. Like I said above, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a real find----great room, great view, great hospitality. We spent a month traveling in NZ, staying mostly at B&Bs and this one truly stood out. It was the first stop on our trip, and set a standard that was not easy to live up to. Thanks so much, Barbara, for everything! Molly and Bob, Atlanta, Ga. USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

There's hardly any point in writing this review - this place is perfect and everyone has said the same thing. The owners have thought of everything, and make you feel perfectly welcome and at home. The house is beautiful, and our room was lovely. Mr Morepork was not in residence, but the garden was beautiful, and there were friendly alpacas, chooks, and goat with character. We just need to think of an excuse to go back soon !

Room Tip: We stayed in the river View Room. It was huge, with a sweet {private] deck area and [shared] stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60YOworldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

While I write this, I note that EVERY reviewer has rated Morepork "EXCELLENT". My rating is no different - another feather in Morepork's cap.

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 2011 (I know I've indicated a different date above, but that's because Tripadvisor wouldn't let me enter such an old date!). We had a perfectly lovely time here. In fact, I suspect that Morepork had a large role to play in making our visit to Paihia so wonderful. Morepork has become the ideal, against which my wife and I now measure all other hotels / B&Bs across the world.

Pros:
1. Paul and Barbara! They are perfect hosts. I think all the other reviewers talk about this, and for good reason
2. Excellent food! Paul really enjoys his cooking, and it shows. Not only is the food tasty, but the plating is also excellent. As for Barbara's freshly baked bread - yummy!
3. Great location! Morepork is located slightly away from the hustle & bustle - i.e. not near the water (as almost all other acco options seemed to be). There is a lot of greenery around the place, and a lovely river flowing close-by. If you are the type that likes a quiet place, then Morepork is the place to be

Cons (and I'm really nitpicking here):
1. Slightly difficult to find: The board is located slightly "inside". You may end up passing the place and then turning around
2. Car access: Morepork is not located near the centre / market area. A car would be needed to visit these (including reaching the area from where you can take a cruise boat). We had hired a car (and I think a lot of people do that while visiting NZ), and this limitation did not apply

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riverview room, which was excellent. I suspect all the rooms are really good actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
4.9 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#3 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morepork Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Property: Morepork Riverside Lodge
Address: 846 Puketona Rd. | Bay of Islands, Northland, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing