We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more than you expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“more than you expect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a real find----great room, great view, great hospitality. We spent a month traveling in NZ, staying mostly at B&Bs and this one truly stood out. It was the first stop on our trip, and set a standard that was not easy to live up to. Thanks so much, Barbara, for everything! Molly and Bob, Atlanta, Ga. USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
176
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

There's hardly any point in writing this review - this place is perfect and everyone has said the same thing. The owners have thought of everything, and make you feel perfectly welcome and at home. The house is beautiful, and our room was lovely. Mr Morepork was not in residence, but the garden was beautiful, and there were friendly alpacas, chooks, and goat with character. We just need to think of an excuse to go back soon !

Room Tip: We stayed in the river View Room. It was huge, with a sweet {private] deck area and [shared] stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60YOworldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

While I write this, I note that EVERY reviewer has rated Morepork "EXCELLENT". My rating is no different - another feather in Morepork's cap.

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 2011 (I know I've indicated a different date above, but that's because Tripadvisor wouldn't let me enter such an old date!). We had a perfectly lovely time here. In fact, I suspect that Morepork had a large role to play in making our visit to Paihia so wonderful. Morepork has become the ideal, against which my wife and I now measure all other hotels / B&Bs across the world.

Pros:
1. Paul and Barbara! They are perfect hosts. I think all the other reviewers talk about this, and for good reason
2. Excellent food! Paul really enjoys his cooking, and it shows. Not only is the food tasty, but the plating is also excellent. As for Barbara's freshly baked bread - yummy!
3. Great location! Morepork is located slightly away from the hustle & bustle - i.e. not near the water (as almost all other acco options seemed to be). There is a lot of greenery around the place, and a lovely river flowing close-by. If you are the type that likes a quiet place, then Morepork is the place to be

Cons (and I'm really nitpicking here):
1. Slightly difficult to find: The board is located slightly "inside". You may end up passing the place and then turning around
2. Car access: Morepork is not located near the centre / market area. A car would be needed to visit these (including reaching the area from where you can take a cruise boat). We had hired a car (and I think a lot of people do that while visiting NZ), and this limitation did not apply

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riverview room, which was excellent. I suspect all the rooms are really good actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Morepork Riverside Lodge for 3 days at the very start of our 4-week trip, and it proved to be an excellent introduction to New Zealand. We woke up every morning to a beautiful view of extremely green rolling hills dotted with sheep, delicious smells of breakfast cooking, and a cheerful word from our host, Paul. 

As it turned out, Paul was one of the most memorable people we met in New Zealand. Coming from America, where hosts tend to stay very aloof, we were surprised and delighted to find Paul extremely open and eager to chat with us. When he asked us if we'd like to stick around for dinner on our first night, we were quick to accept. The lamb he prepared was incredible (he could have charged double and we would have paid it without complaint), and we shared a truly enjoyable evening, chatting with Paul and his other guests, a well-traveled British couple, about the world and our various experiences around it (not having too many of these, we generally did a lot of listening).

The next morning we learned that his culinary skills were not limited to a single lamb dish when he prepared an excellent breakfast, including "streaky" bacon, which was not only delicious, it turned out to be the only bacon in New Zealand that we found to be edible (a typical New Zealander's idea of bacon seems to be a pile of pork fat layered in grease and cooked slightly). We were only slightly surprised when Paul pulled up a chair and asked about our plans for the day, popping up every now and again to ensure that all of his guests had everything they could possibly want. By the time we left, we were well prepared for the day with a full itinerary (including some options and alternatives), weather and sea condition reports, and a cold bottle of water each. 

The remainder of our stay passed in much the same way, and we were both sad to leave. As we headed out the door, my husband and I both did something we've only done twice in our many stays at B&Bs -- gave our host a hug.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbqueen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Back for our 3rd Visit,Wow what a welcome.Even a notice board outside welcoming us. Yippee what a lovely feeling returning to see friends,which is what all guests say of, Barbara and Paul.( 2 of the Best ) You will have read all the other reviews,so I can not add any other comments that have not been said before. ''Simply the Best ''
We were there for 7 nights ( lucky us ) eating with them most nights,which were great memorable nights. Went out to eat 2 nights,to '' Seafood Only'' and ''The Italians'' both Good.
We went to many different places without going to places we had visited before.Paul and Barbara will tell you about all the places to visit. Yes you will never get bored up there, its great.Cant wait to go back. P.S Notice their Clock ! you don't know whether you are coming or going Ha Ha.
Thank You Barbara and Paul for a wonderful time.
( Barry ''Morepork Club '' founder member Ha Ha )

Room Tip: All good,we had the Riverview Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Morepork Riverside Lodge for 4-nights in April at the end of a long trip around New Zealand. We had booked the Riverside room via the internet a number of months in advance of our visit. Prior to our visit we exchanged a number of emails with Paul and Barbara who were really helpful and gave us a lot of suggestions in advance of our stay, of places to visit and things to see on our journey up to Paihia.

On arrival we had a really warm welcome from Paul (Barbara was away but returned at the end of our visit) and enjoyed canapés before dinner. Riverview room is the biggest room of the three although all of the rooms are a good size. The view is absolutely fantastic, looking over beautiful gardens down towards the river and across to the hills opposite. At night it is pitch-black and we could hear the Morepork owls that the Lodge is named after. The room has all the comforts that you could possibly need including a jug of fresh milk for tea and a welcome tray with a basket of fruit and nibbles. Riverside room also has a sofa, annex area with wardrobe and fridge and a veranda overlooking the garden. There is WiFi available and also a laptop for guests to use who are not travelling with their own computer.

We had also emailed to ask Paul to cook dinner for us on our first night at Riverside Lodge as it had been our wedding anniversary the day before. Dinner was very tasty with our choice of a lamb main course and panacotta for dessert. Breakfast was also very good, a communal meal with other guests including beautifully presented food and a different cooked breakfast each day. Paul had lots of suggestions of what to see during our stay and suggested an alternative route back to Auckland which we took and so were able to see even more sights on our last day in New Zealand. He even did a couple of lots of washing for us which was invaluable as we had been travelling for some time.

Paul gave us a tour around the grounds and introductions to the other family members - Pollux the goat, Timtam and Anzac the Alpaccas, ’38’ and ‘1’ the sheep and the ‘girls’ (chickens!). We were even lucky enough to see the Morepork owls roosting in the day.

Paul and Barbara seem to have thought of everything including the little touches to ensure guests have a very comfortable stay and we really felt we were leaving friends when we finally left. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in such a quality place with such nice hosts - it was a great way to finish our tour around New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Apart from being such excellent hosts, Paul and Barbara have the best burglar alarm system I have come across!! They were both extremely welcoming, from the tea and cake on arrival to their first class advice on local attractions. This was invaluable as the weather for most of our 3 days in the Bay of Islands was fairly inclement. We had quality accommodation with a balcony and an excellent view over the local river and surroundings hills in very quiet surroundings. Wine and fruit were supplied and the only slight disadvantage of the B and B is that it is about 8 km from Pahia. That apart it was undoubtedly one of the best we stayed at in all our 6 weeks in NZ. Paul and Barbara are justifiably proud of their house, garden, animals and the pair of Morepork owls which inhabit the garden.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
5.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morepork Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Property: Morepork Riverside Lodge
Address: 846 Puketona Rd. | Bay of Islands, Northland, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing